Fun Day Friday – Skydiving

Okay, so a twist on the fun this Friday. I thought I’d share with you all what I did this weekend (although I’m sure you can guess by the pictures).  For any of you who find skydiving interesting or have thought of trying it before, I can only say, “Go for it!”

Skydiving is by far one of the most incredible adrenaline rushes that I’ve had. As we sat in the plane, climbing higher and higher, I had the lucky spot of sitting next to the open door. My first thought up there was that it was so incredibly peaceful. My next thought was that if I were to slip out the door, I had no parachute on me (when you go tandem the instructor wear’s the chute) and I was not yet hooked up to my instructor. No worries, this was quickly followed up by a logical thought that if I fell out, someone would have to dive really fast to catch me (or so I hoped—truth was I didn’t want to dwell on that too much).

Still, I would go again in a heartbeat. The freefall was so fast and windy that I felt like it was over in the blink of an eye (50-60 seconds to be exact). And after that, it was smooth sailing with the wind, floating a few thousand feet above the ground. The quiet is eerie and amazing at the same time. My most prominent thought as we steered our way to the ground, was that this event was ending way too soon and I could completely understand why people would skydive for a living. My thought as I write this article is that adrenaline rush events like skydiving would be great tools for writer’s block. They tend to give a bit of perspective on life in general.

Thought to leave you with: Whatever you’re doing  (work or play), have fun, make it count.

This entry was posted in Toni Kelly, Writer's Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fun Day Friday – Skydiving

  1. Kary says:

    Thanks, Toni.

    I love to skydive on Wii Sports Resort. I have high score at our house. But real skydiving is something I couldn’t do. That small step right out of plane. Stresses me out just thinking about it.

    But the sentiment is strong. Make it count.

    • Toni Kelly says:

      I can understand that. The view from up there is quite a ways down but there is something so peaceful about it– as long as you’re not scared of heights.

  2. Gerri says:

    I am a skydiver. I have 56 jumps and I have to say it is one of the greatest feelings – totally awesome. I’m so happy you had the opportunity experience something so amazing.

  3. Lisa Kumar says:

    While I’m not afraid of heights, I don’t know if I could step off the plane! But I think it would be a very exciting and eye-opening experience. Kudos to you, Toni, for doing it!

  4. Brenda says:

    LOL, you brave, brave girl!!! There is no way I would ever skydive. I’m not really a risk taker. Heck, I don’t even like flying.

  5. Wow. Wow Wow!! That’s all I can say 🙂

  6. jennajaxon says:

    The only way I would jump out of a plane is if it was going down in flames–and then I’d have to think long and hard about it! LOL That being said, there are things that give me that rush as well, just with both feet on the ground. But yes, absolutely, go for the rush! Fun post.

  7. D'Ann says:

    I am terrified of heights and I hate planes, so I can’t see myself ever doing this. But it sounds like a good time for those of you crazy enough to jump out of a perfectly good plane. Hehehehe…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.