Friends Are Sometimes All You Need by Heather Novak

Three days ago, I made a horrible realization – 

Let me back up and start at the beginning.

I FINALLY started writing. Not like “Yay I did some random writing on some random chapter of some random book” crap, but actual FULL FLEGED “I’m making my word count goals for this book and it’s awesome!” writing.

I’m working on the re-edit of Threat of Raine, the sequel to my novella Hunting Witch Hazel. I worked my butt off and was 80% done when I just couldn’t get there. My Happily Ever After was missing.

Then I came to a truly horrible realization: this book was not a romance.
Not in a novella. Maybe if it was a full length, extra long. My heroine was not the lead female in her story, somehow. I had created another paranormal creature who had taken her spot. FULL STOP.

I walked away from my computer and sent my editor/friend thirty crying-face emojis. This was the reason the book failed in the past, it’s why the betas sent it back over and over again saying it didn’t work. But I didn’t know how to fix it.

Thankfully, she did. For an hour, she peppered me with questions about books 2 and 3. At the end of the hour, she asked the simple question, “Why do there have to be two characters doing the same thing. Why not simplify it into one, because novella?”

I’m sitting there like, “Wait, what? I can do that?”

She responded, “Yes, it’s your book. You can do anything.”

I knew that, logically, but the way she said it really reminded me that I can’t be afraid to shape and reshape the characters. So, after crying into a box of cookies because I was going to have to scrap everything and start over for the fifth time, I opened a new word document and got to work.

This time, it’s DEFINITELY a romance.



On this day in 1937 – Susan Sheehan was born. She was an American author, recipient of the Pulitzer Prize for General Non-fiction for her book Is There No Place on Earth for Me?, staff writer for The New Yorker.

 


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,BannerWithInfo_ForWeb
Heather Novak
Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Instagram: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak

Hunting Witch Hazel: Now available
I was happy with my West Coast life – 24-hour pizza delivery and bikini-clad bodies as far as the eye could see. Now I’m in the small-ass town of 
Hayvenwood to extract a ransom to save my little brother’s life. And that ransom is locked inside of the sexiest witch I have ever met, Hazel Evanora.

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

