The Actual List… By Ripley Proserpina

This is the time of the summer where I start comparing my summer reading wish-list with what I actually read.

Not surprisingly, like my to-do list, I didn’t quite get finished what I had planned. First of all, there were so many amazing authors I discovered this summer, and sometimes my planned to-read books got pushed down the list.

This summer, I seemed to choose books that left me thinking long after I’d finished them. So here’s a quick list of what I found.

First- a good friend of mine, looking for a book about redemption, suggested Stoned by Mandi Beck. She said it was a story that would stick with me, and she wasn’t wrong. Even now, I can’t decide how exactly I feel about the male MC. Did I love him, did I not? Jury is still out.

https://www.amazon.com/Mandi-Beck/e/B00SJVQDDA/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1503184844&sr=1-2-ent

The amazing Amanda Milo, author of Rescued by the Alien, suggested I read Venomous by Penelope Fletcher. This was a book, a wonderfully loooong book, about an alien who looked like an alien, and a female MC with no chance of returning to Earth. This was science fiction world building like nobody’s business.

https://www.amazon.com/Amanda-Milo/e/B071V6N5CN/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1503184812&sr=1-2-ent

https://www.amazon.com/Penelope-Fletcher/e/B004BH6KH0/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1503184912&sr=1-2-ent

Rebecca Royce released two books in her Last Hope series, Tradition be Damned and Past Be Damned. I can say, unequivocally, I adored these books, and will re-read. Ms. Royce managed to combine dystopia and demons, and the result is incredible.

https://www.amazon.com/Rebecca-Royce/e/B004E50FPW

Finally, I returned to my favorite nonfiction author, Nathaniel Philbrick, with a re-read of Mayflower. This book is better than any multi-novel fantasy Tor has ever put out, and is all the more mind-blowing because it’s true. Want to be frightened? Read about what the pilgrims did when they arrived in the new world. It’ll give you nightmares.

https://www.amazon.com/Nathaniel-Philbrick/e/B000AQW3A4/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1503184968&sr=1-2-ent

Hope everyone had as an enjoyable a reading list as I did. Enjoy August, and the few weeks left to read on the beach (or porch, or hammock, or chair during a baseball game) wherever you are. ~Ripley

This entry was posted in Rebecca Royce, Ripley Proserpina. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

