The Writing Retreat by Bobbi Lerman

Reasons to go on a writing retreat! 

I learned the far-reaching benefits of going on retreats years ago when I woke up one day certain I had lost touch with my muse forever. I wanted -no- I needed to somehow jumpstart my creative flow.

Serious alteration in my approach and mindset was needed. I had to change the setting in which I wrote and created my stories. The day to day distractions were impossible to avoid. You know the ones I’m talking about. Housework that never ended, errands on your to do list, that took more time than what was in a day, and family members whom always seem to need you and only you, to do or fix something, and the biggest time-sucker of all time—that robbed you of your valuable writing time—the infamous day job.

Yes, I told myself day after day, I planned to write when I got home after dinner in the evening and on the weekends, but exhaustion overpowered my intentions, my focus had gone to seed and my muse went into deep hiding, I found any excuse from the bathroom needed cleaning, to a mountain of laundry waiting in a corner, or my husband wanted dinner, to procrastinate putting my butt in the chair and my fingers on the keyboard.

A retreat is necessary nourishment for your senses. It is the best way to connect with your muse, other writers, work through writer’s block by getting your hand moving across the page and to network with like-minded individuals. All excuses and reasons to put off writing is taken away on a retreat as you are left alone with uninterrupted time with your muse who is desperate for attention. Need I go on?

What to do you ask?

Here’s my advice – Retreat!  Retreat! Retreat!

Don’t let anyone talk you out of it. Don’t let anyone make you think you don’t deserve time to nurture your dreams. You do!

Pack a bag, bring your kindle/books, notebooks, pen/pencil, you’re walking shoes, favorite munchies, (you will need these while on the road) and your most comfortable pj’s. Stand fast, allow no one to interfere. Make it clear to one and all, they are not invited and the one extra seat they see beside you is for your muse. It doesn’t matter that she’s been AWOL. The old girl will show up. She can’t resist a chance to retreat or the opportunity for some serious non-stop TLC.

How do I find a retreat that is perfect for me?

I can tell you from personal experience, there is a wide variety out there.   You can retreat for a day, a weekend or longer.  I’d recommend a week if you can manage it which brings me to the perfect segue to pitch my own upcoming writers retreat.

Have you ever fantasized of combining travel with writing? I can tell you this is a dream worth holding on to. Here is what I know for sure; travel broadens the mind and opens a direct line to the muse. I understand because I have spent time feeding my muse with travels to Israel, Scotland, London, Paris etc…Retreating connects your creative soul with the magic of the world around you.

Join us Scribblers in the country that inspired Tolkien, JK Rowling, Dame Agatha Christie and many others with a week dedicated to nurturing yourself and your muse as you participate in workshops geared to getting your hand moving across the page, spend time with other writers, enjoy an abundance of personal writing time as well as a bit of exploring the beautiful English countryside. In between your writing you’ll enjoy the great food and atmosphere, and down a pint or two.  Check out Scribbler’s Ink UK Writers Retreat in the Magical Forest of Dean, September 1-8, 2018. Your writing will thank you!

http://scribblersink.com/#/writing-retreats/

To follow Bobbi:

https://www.facebook.com/Author-Bobbi-Lerman-564479847017048/?ref=bookmarks

Buy links for Bobbi’s Books:  https://www.amazon.com/Bobbi-Lerman/e/B074DGSNR6/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_2

Bobbi Lerman’s writing has evolved from when she first began creating short stories in her early teens about her extended family in the three-family house she grew up in to include travel and personal essay, historical medieval romance and contemporary romance with a touch of the paranormal. 

Bobbi is the founder of Scribbler’s Ink, an active online community and website offering interviews with authors, writing tips and daily prompts.

Bobbi’s latest release, Tillie’s Last Match is featured in the Seasons of Promises Anthology.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thank you, Bobbi! You are always a delight when you visit us. Have an amazing and productive retreat.

-Susan
Susan Hanniford Crowley

 

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, and Science Fiction Author
This entry was posted in Bobbi Lerman, contemporary romance, historical romance, Historical romance, romance, romance novels, Writer Workshops, Writer's Life, Writing Advice, Writing Craft, writing workshop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

