In Case of Writer’s Block, Break Glass by Heather Novak

Between broaching the busy season at my day job and the mounds of grief, I’ve been crawling out of my skin. There was no writing. There wasn’t even reading. I even considered deleting my author page and quitting my blogs. (Stop panicking, I didn’t give into the crazy.)

Determined to break out of my funk, I called a few of my girlfriends and we planned a “girls weekend” in Frankenmuth, Michigan for 24 hours full of homemade fudge, wine, and shopping. Coincidentally, our trip to my mom’s favorite place fell on the six month anniverary of her passing. Instead of the trip being full of tears, we turned it into a celebration.

 We went to my mom’s favorite store, Bronner’s, which is boasted as the largest Christmas store.

Holy cow (Pun intended). It was huge!!

We went in the evening when it was less crowded and I spent hours wandering around the giant Christmas (and Halloween) displays, thinking about how much Mom loved this place. My bestie even bought me a light up angel in her memory (there was crying. Not gonna lie). I walked out with a giant bag full of decorations, a fairy tree topper, and even some Halloween fun! 

We also walked through the Silent Night Memorial Chapel on the property and I signed Mom’s name in the book. 
In addition to Bronners, we took a boat ride with wine and chocolate. Because yes, that magic dies exist. There’s something so relaxing about being out on the water…drinking…and eating chocolate.


We hit up the Frankenmuth historical museum and all reveled in the joy that were alive in the 21st century! (I would not have done well in covered wagon days.) 

Fun fact: You know those calling cards they always leave when visiting in historical romance novels? I finally saw some in person! 


We also tried to figure out what supplies we could carry in our covered wagon. Did you know an iPhone is only 1lb? 


We played disc golf, which really was just us walking around and staring at wild flowers.

We EVEN FOUND HEATHER SAFE FOOD! In my group, I am the queen of alleriges. Frankenmuth has gluten free/vegan cupcakes from Sugar High Bakery (Winner of Cupcake Wars), gluten free/vegan fudge from Frankenmuth Fudge Kitchen, and even gluten free/vegan Crepe.

We shopped until my feet and wallet were aching. We gossiped. We bought books we didn’t have room for at the used book store. We ate way too much food. We talked about my mom.

I spent two days with a smile on my face. When I got home, my current WIP started pouring out of me again. I had broken through the barrier.

While going to Frankenmuth whenever I need a break isn’t logical or cost friendly, there’s something to be said about a stress-free day with good friends. Too often while we’re writing or grieving or just plain busy, we ignore our emotional needs. This week’s tip is make the time to go out with the friends that lift you up. They will be the ones that get you over the hurdles.

 



On this day in 1961 – Julia Peterkin, American author, dies. She was the recipient of the Pulitzer Prize for Scarlet Sister Mary as well as the O. Henry Award for two of her short stories (b. 1880)

A


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,BannerWithInfo_ForWeb
Heather Novak
Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Instagram: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak

Hunting Witch Hazel: Now available
I was happy with my West Coast life – 24-hour pizza delivery and bikini-clad bodies as far as the eye could see. Now I’m in the small-ass town of 
Hayvenwood to extract a ransom to save my little brother’s life. And that ransom is locked inside of the sexiest witch I have ever met, Hazel Evanora.

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Case of Writer’s Block, Break Glass by Heather Novak

  1. Pingback: In Case of Writer’s Block, Break Glass by Heather Novak — Nights of Passion – Bound By Rosie

Leave a Reply

