Hate to Love in Real Life by Heather Novak

I cancelled all my plans last weekend to recover from my impromptu traveling due to a funeral, which left me on the couch in the middle of a weekend day.

SO WEIRD.

I was emotional exhausted and physically fatigued and, needless to say, a bit surly. Writing was not going to happen, cleaning was not going to happen (let’s be honest, was that even an option?), and dealing with outside chores? Nope.

 Everything I watched or tried to read was making me mad. (My therapist says it’s displaced anger blah blah blah grief and crap, blah blah blah)…so what now?

Ladies (and gentlemen?), may I let you in on a secret? I LOVE HATE WATCHING MOVIES! Instead of looking for things to make me happy  or emotional (omg I’ve cried enough, thank you), I decided to put on movies that I KNEW were going to piss me off. I got my favorite snacks (is it still Skinny Pop if I eat the entire bag?) and turned on movies.

OH MY GOSH were they terrible. And wonderful. I made sure to watch movies with good production quality and got lost in snarky comments and laughing at serious parts. (I’m looking at you, Sharknado.) I didn’t care when I took a 20 minutes nap in the middle. I didn’t feel pressured to like anything…and you know what?

I had a wonderful day.

Next, I started reading books that I thought I wasn’t going to like, and slowly got sucked into story lines I wouldn’t have given a chance. Suddenly, I got wrapped up and pulled out of my bad mood and into my happy place: The place between book covers.

Sometimes love and hate is a fine line. And don’t we all love a good enemies to lovers romance? What’s your favorite enemies to lovers book? I think Kulti by Mariana Zapata may be my favorite right now…

 



On this day in 2013 – Marie Corinne Morrison Claiborne Boggs, better known as Lindy Boggs, dies after a long life fighting for civil rights and the rights of women. She served in the US House of Representatives for 18 years, beginning by taking her husband’s seat after his death. Prior to his death she had been his political partner, even managing his political campaigns. She was also the US Ambassador to the Vatican and the first woman to preside over a major party convention, the 1976 Democratic National Convention. (b. 1916)

 


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,BannerWithInfo_ForWeb
Heather Novak
Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Instagram: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak

Hunting Witch Hazel: Now available
I was happy with my West Coast life – 24-hour pizza delivery and bikini-clad bodies as far as the eye could see. Now I’m in the small-ass town of 
Hayvenwood to extract a ransom to save my little brother’s life. And that ransom is locked inside of the sexiest witch I have ever met, Hazel Evanora.

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

