Make Today Yours

I recently blogged about my move across the country (or at least I may I have mentioned it) and I just have to say, moving is not fun and it is a lot of work. My hope is that if I have to move again, it is very far down the road. Okay, so now that I’ve got that out of my system, I have to say I am truly loving the greenery of the Carolinas. Sure it is humid and I hear the folks here talk about how horrible the humidity is, but coming from the desert, humidity is a treat. My skin isn’t cracking, my hair doesn’t feel so brittle, and life is good.

So why the difference? I lived on the east coast for 25 years and never did I have an appreciation for the humidity and greenery as I do now. Why is that? You know how as a kid your folks sit there and say things like life isn’t always greener on the other side or we always wish for what we can’t have? Well, they of course were right. Hey, I admit it. My response to most of my mom’s warnings was a roll of my eyes. The one thing I really wish I could speed up is the wisdom that comes with age, but then that would mean speeding up the experiences that make us wise and that isn’t something I’d want to happen. I mean think about it, we spend most of our lives learning lessons and growing wiser. Some of those lessons I’m sure we’d all like to leave behind but that just isn’t the way we work. If I hadn’t moved out to the desert searching for “greener” pastures then I wouldn’t have had the appreciation for where we’ve now moved.

I bring this up as even at this moment, I’m wearing a headset simply to block out the constant complaining of some folks around me. They are nice group but I have to say they spend a good portion of their days talking about everything negative in their lives and I’ve been there, done that. It sounds ridiculous but the talk is contagious and while I don’t think life is all rainbows, I’ve also lived long enough to realize that the uber venting is not going to make it better and quite frankly, I’m not sure it does much to make us feel better.

So, take a deep breath, tackle this next day and make the most of it. Happy writing folks!

 

This entry was posted in A writer's life, romance, Toni Kelly and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

