Live Streaming By Mandy Rosko

Okay, so the fun new thing I cooked up for myself as a neat experiment, because I apparently like to embarrass myself a lot, is live streaming while I’m writing my first drafts.

 

It’s something I’ve been doing for a couple of months, but I finally figured out how to make OBS stream my screen as well as my webcam at the same time, so people could potentially read along with what I’m writing.

 

This sounds horrifying, and maybe it is a little, but so far I’ve found it to be a great way to get to know my readers. People drop in, not a lot, but enough, and they watch, they comment, and I have full conversations about writing and reading while I’m doing my writing in front of them.

 

I’m loving it so far. The only thing I don’t like is how I have to tidy up my room and make some effort to not look like a complete slob, but otherwise, yeah, really enjoyable, and the fact that it brings me closer to my fans is a definite added bonus. I’ve had people tell me they’ve picked up some of my books after watching a live stream, and others who have become patrons because of it.

 

So, for part of my fun writerly advice for this week, consider doing a fun live stream with your fans. It doesn’t have to be on Youtube, you could set it up fairly easily on Facebook. I love doing videos, but I hate having to edit them, so Live streaming seems to be the excellent middle ground for getting to know my fans for me 😉 Maybe it could be for you, too.

 

Cheers! And Happy Reading!

 

Mandy Rosko

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, and Science Fiction Author
This entry was posted in romance. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

