Holding My Books Hostage by Heather Novak

Last week, I had a life changing epiphany.

After years of research, talking to agents, editors, and authors on personal and professional levels, I have decided to prep my backlog of books for indie-release.

*chants* I will not throw up…I will not throw up…I will not throw up…

There’s just one problem – Fear is holding my books hostage. They are much safer on my hard drive than in the hands of readers.

I always thought self-publishing was the path for me, but I stalled. At first, to get more information and to learn how to be successful. Then, because traditional publishing offered a lot more built-in safety features. There was always someone else to blame if something goes wrong – a bad cover, a bad book blurb, a bad editor. When you do it all yourself, you’re the only person to take the heat when it goes wrong.

Terrified of my monumental decision, I picked up Daring Greatly by Brene Brown, which came highly recommended by several friends. This book was phenomenal and it totally called me out on being afraid to be vulnerable. Vulnerability is the only way to live a Whole Hearted life and if this year has taught me anything, it’s that life is too short to live anything else.

I need my books out there. These pieces of my heart that are broken off and sewn into pages do no good sitting on my hard drive. And because I write in “dead genres” they’re harder to sell traditionally.

So, over the next twelve months, I will be re-editing, prepping, putting covers, and giving heartbeats to these books. Then, I will proudly be vulnerable and share these books with you.

Send barf bags.


On this day in 1954 – Frida Kahlo, Mexican painter, passed away. Best-known for her self-portraits, considered emblematic of national and indigenous tradition; her work is described as surrealist. (b. 1907)


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,BannerWithInfo_ForWeb
Heather Novak
Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Instagram: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak

Hunting Witch Hazel: Now available
I was happy with my West Coast life – 24-hour pizza delivery and bikini-clad bodies as far as the eye could see. Now I’m in the small-ass town of 
Hayvenwood to extract a ransom to save my little brother’s life. And that ransom is locked inside of the sexiest witch I have ever met, Hazel Evanora.

 

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

