Books: My Instant Vacation by Heather Novak

So, there I was, moving along, starting to write again, enjoying the warm weather that has finally graced Michigan, when the time came to bury my mother’s urn. (And, yeah, we’re burying it because putting it on a shelf or in a box is just weird.) After waiting for family to coordinate schedules, a marker to be made and installed, and some cemetery contract issues to resolve (seriously, death is super complicated, much like life…), it’s taken nearly four months to get everything in order.

What I never expected was the week leading up to the burial feels dangerously similar to the week of her funeral. Except, now, there’s no bereavement time and I already ate all the cookies in the house and had to go out and buy more. 

I only ate three cookies yesterday, I swear. And by three, I mean four. Ish.

What’s a girl to do when she’s crawling out of her skin with grief and anxiety and can’t take a vacation?

Read. All the books. All of them. 

Okay, maybe not all of them because I still have to work my day job (since I need to fund my cookie habit). I gave myself permission not to write, because there’s absolutely no way I can focus on that anyway. Instead, I’ve been rolling around in my love for Sally Thorne and Mariana Zapata. 

Sally Thorne only has one book out so far, but yes, you need it. It’s called The Hating Game. Enemies to lovers, quirky, simple yet captivating, great voice. 

Nemesis (n.) 1) An opponent or rival whom a person cannot best or overcome.

                       2) A person’s undoing

                       3) Joshua Templeman

Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman hate each other. Not dislike. Not begrudgingly tolerate. Hate. And they have no problem displaying their feelings through a series of ritualistic passive aggressive maneuvers as they sit across from each other, executive assistants to co-CEOs of a publishing company. Lucy can’t understand Joshua’s joyless, uptight, meticulous approach to his job. Joshua is clearly baffled by Lucy’s overly bright clothes, quirkiness, and Pollyanna attitude.

Now up for the same promotion, their battle of wills has come to a head and Lucy refuses to back down when their latest game could cost her her dream job…But the tension between Lucy and Joshua has also reached its boiling point, and Lucy is discovering that maybe she doesn’t hate Joshua. And maybe, he doesn’t hate her either. Or maybe this is just another game.

Mariana Zapata has a nice backlist, which has already made it’s way onto my kindle along with the Whispersync audio into my audible app. MZ is the QUEEN of the slow burn romance. Oh my goodness, is it DELICIOUS. I’ve not made it through all of her books yet, because these puppies are LONG (we’re talking like 700 pages each.) But they are so worth it. 

My favorite so far is probably Wait For It

If anyone ever said being an adult was easy, they hadn’t been one long enough.

Diana Casillas can admit it: she doesn’t know what the hell she’s doing half the time. How she’s made it through the last two years of her life without killing anyone is nothing short of a miracle. Being a grown-up wasn’t supposed to be so hard.

With a new house, two little boys she inherited the most painful possible way, a giant dog, a job she usually loves, more than enough family, and friends, she has almost everything she could ever ask for.

Except for a boyfriend.

Or a husband.

But who needs either one of those?

 I maintain that if the world read more romance, it would be a much happier place.

Until next week, happy reading. 

 

 



On this day in 1953  Ana Castillo was born. Mexican-American author, poet, editor, playwright and scholar, recipient of a number of awards including an American book Award and a Carl Sandbury Award, first Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz Endowed Chair at DePaul University

 


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,BannerWithInfo_ForWeb
Heather Novak
Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Instagram: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak

Hunting Witch Hazel: Now available
I was happy with my West Coast life – 24-hour pizza delivery and bikini-clad bodies as far as the eye could see. Now I’m in the small-ass town of 
Hayvenwood to extract a ransom to save my little brother’s life. And that ransom is locked inside of the sexiest witch I have ever met, Hazel Evanora.

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

