When An Author Regroups After Surgery

I was a little delusional. I thought to myself, okay, have the surgery and then while laid up write at maniac speed.  Pain, however, was a definite stumbling block. Pain killers also tend to blur the brain. Random falling asleep really got me-sometimes with the laptop still on.

When the brain cleared and I managed to stay awake, I also saw the writing ramifications of my illness. I usually write in chronological order, but during my illness I wrote the chapter most on my mind at that moment. What did that mean after my surgery?  I had a mess to contend with. This is how I’m fixing it.

  1. Write a chapter by chapter synopsis. A paragraph about what should be in each chapter. I chose to also give each chapter titles to help me realizes what goes in it. In this way, I am able to see what was missing.
  2. Take the synopsis and write a Step-by-Step. Meaning break each chapter down to a sentence to keep you on the writing path. This part is to follow your main character.
  3. Important parts-Red circle things that are important but you have not addressed or are missing from the book when it shouldn’t be.
  4. Now write.

I have to thank the CTRWA for this concept. It’s based on a talk an author did showing her board with all the color coded sticky notes that basically broke down the book chapter by chapter. She was explaining plotting.  I write by the seat of my pants (pantser) but took notes and am glad I did, because I devised the above based on her talk.

So a week after surgery, I was finally able to make sense out of all my chapters and write the synopsis for each chapter. I’m back to work on Book 3 in my series of the Arnhem Knights of New York. At the same time, I’m preparing for Vampire Princess of New York to come out in print on July 4th. That’s my publisher’s date.

-Susan
Susan Hanniford Crowley, Amazon Kindle Bestselling Author of Vampire Romance
www.susanhannifordcrowley.com
Where love burns eternal and whispers in the dark!

NEW: Vampire Princess of New York, Arnhem Knights of New York, Book 2 available in Kindle!  Coming soon in Print on July 4th!

 

 

 

 


Vampire King of New York,
Arnhem Knights of New York, Book 1
available in Kindle and Print and  Barnes and Noble Print

 

 

 

 

 

Vampire in the Basement, Vampires in Manhattan, Book 4 available in Kindle.
Poseidon’s Catch (mythology romance) available in Kindle.
Mrs. Bright’s Tea Room (steampunk romance) available in Kindle.
A Vampire for Christmas,Vampires in Manhattan, Book 3 available in Kindle.
The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais, Vampires in Manhattan, Book 2 available in Kindle and Print and Barnes and Noble Print
When Love , Vampires in Manhattan Book 1 available in Kindle and Print, Nook, Kobo and Smashwords.
Poseidon HR FinalMrsBrightsCoverVampire in the Basement-large

vampchrist20copy1The Stormy Love Life of Laura CordelaisWhenLoveSurvives_LgWeb-version_smash2

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, and Science Fiction Author
This entry was posted in A Vampire for Christmas, Helping Other Writers, Max Vander Meer, Mrs. Bright's Tea Room, mythology romance, Norse, paranormal, paranormal romance, problem-solving, stress, writing, journal, diary, resolve, worked, relax., romance, romance novels, shapeshifters, steampunk romance, Susan Hanniford Crowley, The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais, vampire books, Vampire David Hilliard, Vampire in the Basement, Vampire King of New York, Vampire King of New York In Print, Vampire Maximillion Vander Meer, Vampire Princess of New York, vampires, Viking, Weekly Paranormal-Scope, What A Writer Needs, When Love Survives, Writer's Life, Writing Advice, Writing Craft, Writing Topics, Yule and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

