Remembering My Mother by Heather Novak

Three generation picture of my late grandma, my late mom, and itty bitty me!

Sunday will be the first Mother’s Day without by biological mom and I am NOT looking forward to it. Truth be told, I didn’t like the day all that much to begin with…but that’s a different tangent. 

I wanted to tell you a story about my mother, something I only found out when we were cleaning out her place.

She was a writer.

My mom’s high school senior picture and me. You can tell we’re related!

I knew it abstractly, something she mentioned a few times in conversation when we were kids. What I didn’t know was that she was submitting to agents when I started college. 

There are many handwritten pages, notes on looseleaf paper, and some fully typed chapters, clearly done on a typewriter. I know these are the only records of these words and I think that I will use them in a story somehow to preserve them. Reading through them is like being with her again. 

I will be frank – my mother and I were not close for the many years. She was sick and very dependent for nearly all of my life and the decline was steeper every year.

 

 

 

 

 

In the last few weeks of her life, when it was discovered that her multi-organ failure was the cause of a lot of her “non-caring” ways, the resentment and the anger all subsided and we had a wonderful month together.

Rereading her manuscript and agent notes, I’ve realized that there are huge chunks of her life that I know nothing about. Not for lack of her telling me, but for lack of my listening. 

Her writing is novice, but it’s imaginative and emotional. With a few more years of work, she would’ve been a phenomenal author. It’s a good reminder that with each story, each year, you’ll get better and better. Just keep writing. 

Mom and me while she was in hospice.

I’m heartbroken that I can’t call her or talk to her about her writing. However, I’m very lucky to have a fabulous step-mom and mother-in-law. I also have my mom’s manuscripts…and that’s kind of like having a piece of her with me.

If you’re lucky enough to have a mother you’re close with this Mother’s Day, count your blessings. If you are heartbroken for whatever reason this year, know that you’re not alone. 
As for my own books? Grief took a toll on my last manuscript. I’m giving myself a much needed break and will get back to writing in a few weeks.

 



On this day in 1918 – Sheila Burnford was born. She was a British author, known for her book The Incredible Journey which was the basis of the 1963 Disney film of the same name (d. 1984)


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,BannerWithInfo_ForWeb
Heather Novak
Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Instagram: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak

Hunting Witch Hazel: Now available
I was happy with my West Coast life – 24-hour pizza delivery and bikini-clad bodies as far as the eye could see. Now I’m in the small-ass town of 
Hayvenwood to extract a ransom to save my little brother’s life. And that ransom is locked inside of the sexiest witch I have ever met, Hazel Evanora.

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

