Don’t Let Rejection Rule

There has been a theme in my life lately. A theme of rejection. Not necessarily all at once or even all for me, it just keeps coming up and more apparent than anything else, is our fear of it. The other thing I realize is that for many, this fear seems to evolve to some degree with age. I’m generalizing now but it does seem that lately, the older folks I meet, don’t seem to stress out about rejection and the looming sense of failure that comes with it. Why is that?

As I sit and think about what bothers me now that I’m older, I realize that a lot of my preoccupations when I was younger really don’t have the same effect on me. I don’t need to be a size 4 or date a guy with a six-pack (yes, I know I was very superficial as a teenager). It isn’t the end of the world if I don’t ace a project. I’m sure my boss would prefer it and it is not to say I won’t try, but either way, I know I’m not doing anything so impactful that the world would end should I make a slight mistake.

So back to my theme and wondering thought… why is it that we take rejection so heavily and is it worth it? Anyone who’s read my blog a few times, knows that answer by now. Of course it is not. And quite frankly, I prefer to come to this realization while I’m still young enough to take chances and live my life. I don’t want to wait until I’m older to no longer let rejection affect me—or at least affect me negatively.

Moral of today’s blog? Care now, make now count and let rejection propel you to greatness versus bring you down.

Happy writing this week!

 

 

This entry was posted in A writer's life, romance, Toni Kelly and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

