The World Around Us

I went to a coffee shop this weekend and had the feeling I’d been warped back into time. I’m very fond of coffee shops, I used to work as a barista and a baker in one back in college. And I’m not talking Starbuck’s although I’m very fond of Starbuck’s as well. I’m talking those good old-fashioned eclectic sort of coffee shops that serve interesting eats and where folks come to park with their laptops for the entire day.

The reason I’m bringing this up is because coffee shops tend to bring out the most interesting sides of people and they allow you to catch all types of conversations. They attract all sorts of people for all different types of reasons. This past weekend, the conversation I found most interesting was on how most Americans are clueless to all the craziness that goes on around them. And while I agree that we can all continue to learn and grow in more areas than I can mention, I do believe that most folks are simply trying to live versus remain ignorant.

Okay, so I’m going to go all philosophical now, but I truly believe life is too short. Do I think we should take better care of our earth, our fellow man and our own lives? Yes, but this means something different to each and every one of us and at the end of the day, we can each only digest so much information and so many recommendations. Should we exercise? Yes. Should we eat right? Yes. Should we save more and spend less? In most cases, yes. These three things are hard enough let along taking care of our families and friends and being a better citizen.

So my thoughts on this conversation I overheard and the many that will come after it? I do believe that most humans mean well and that if we take the time to educate and influence each other, we would see change versus criticizing our fellow man for not having made the changes prior. We are all busy striving to survive and sometimes, we just need a little help opening our eyes to the people and the world around us.

Happy writing this week!

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in A writer's life, romance, Toni Kelly and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

