Your Past is Not Your Future

I work in the financial services industry and at least several times a week we are telling clients that past performance is not necessarily a predictor of future performance. This is absolutely true and it goes for so much more than market predictions. This is even more apparent in dealing with an administration with which it is very hard to predict almost anything.

Politics aside, I feel that we can learn a lot from the past and while it may not predict the future we can use it to guide our actions in the future. As a 17-year-old teenager, I want hydroplaned on a big freeway outside of Washington DC. Miracle of miracles I did not hit another car during a pretty packed rush hour. But I did learn that when a car begins to hydroplane it is best not to hit the brakes and to remain calm. This same learning process happens as we write and honestly, with pretty much everything in life.

I combed through manuscripts I wrote perhaps years ago and at the time I was so immersed in my work I couldn’t see the flaws. Looking back over time, I’ve grown and learned how to increase the depth of my characters and add micro tension on each page. Admittedly, it is a work in progress that will continue forever, but what is the fun if there is no challenge? How boring would it be if we never made mistakes and never continue to learn? I want to grow as a person, as a writer, as a mother andas a wife. And most folks I meet want to do the same in someway or another.

My advice? Be open to miss state and while your past should not predict your future, use your past to improve your future.

Happy writing this week!

This entry was posted in A writer's life, romance, Toni Kelly and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

