When the Door Closes, Cut Out a Window by Heather Novak

Hello Nights of Passion!

I’m typing this blog post with TWO HANDS! That’s right, my wrist is finally out of the brace and I am able to use it for a few hours at a time. Whew.

So, let’s get real. I have just been hit with a bunch of rejection letters. I know, I know, it’s part of the process. Doesn’t make it suck any less to know that. What does make it suck less is my awesome support system, which includes my sis-in-law’s baking, my (slightly terrified at my diva meltdown) husband, and my fellow romance writers. After a banner week of one hit after another, I stopped looking at the news, and I got my mopey butt down to my friend’s book signing (romantic suspense author Elizabeth Heiter).

It was glorious to celebrate with her and spend time with my tribe! 

andy-warholWe talked about what the heck I was going to do with this book that was getting a lot of attention but no offers. The book is Young Adult, but could be made New Adult. Should I do that and indie-publish? Should I sell directly to publishers? Should I do another edit? Should I do another huge agent round? My head was spinning.

With the help of my writer friends, I made a plan. First step, get a professional critique/participate in a critique workshop. Next, participate in all the live-pitch events I can get my hands on. (Jumping past the slush piles is always a plus.) Finally, write my fingers off.

Like all passionate plans, things started clicking into place.

Monday, my friend sent me the link to the Michigan Writers Workshop in Novi, MI on March 25th. There will be agents and editors to pitch to, along with workshops on how to polish your craft. It’s within driving distance of me, so I signed up immediately and will be pitching to a handful of agents. 

I’ve workshopped my pitch twice and I’ve gotten professional feedback. I also have it memorized. My query letter is written, my synopsis is done, I’m on deck for a critique, and I’m ready for this. I’m cutting my own window out of this room that I felt trapped in only a few days ago.

I even wrote a few hours on a book I had set aside months ago. I’ve discovered the single most important thing in getting your energy up to write is hope. Hope is what keeps the words flowing. If current events are breaking your heart, take a few days away from the news and even social media so you can refocus. We need HEA’s more than ever.

When your writing gets tough, bite back.

Love,
H



On this day in 1724 – Frances Brooke, English author, playwright, and translator was born.


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,BannerWithInfo_ForWeb
Heather Novak
Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Instagram: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak

Hunting Witch Hazel: Now available
I was happy with my West Coast life – 24-hour pizza delivery and bikini-clad bodies as far as the eye could see. Now I’m in the small-ass town of 
Hayvenwood to extract a ransom to save my little brother’s life. And that ransom is locked inside of the sexiest witch I have ever met, Hazel Evanora.

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

