Broken Bones and Broken Words by Heather Novak


Hello nights of passion readers,

I am writing this blog post using the dictation function on my iPad. Over the Thanksgiving holiday, I broke my wrist doing something very embarrassing. But if anyone asks, I was fighting ninjas instead of having a fight with my kitchen cabinets that went south very quickly.

So what does one do when they type for a living and only have one usable hand?

I’m glad you asked. The short answer is to write by hand or learn how to do dictation on your iPad. 

The long answer is: annoy the crap out of your spouse who is probably cranky from doing all of the dishes that you’re conveniently excused from because of your broken wrist, be crabby because you type at 25% of the speed you typically type with, eat some leftover birthday cake, and then try to figure out how you’re going to complete your weekly blog without looking like a fool.

I haven’t actually figured out how to continue writing my work in progress… It does seem kind of weird to dictate kissing scenes out loud, especially when my husband is around to make fun of me. I’ve heard from other writers that handwriting is the best way to go. I mean it can’t be any worse than talking into a headset on the couch during some sportsball game, right? At least if I’m handwriting no one can overhear me talking about how gorgeous my hero’s eyes are…

Despite the inconvenience of a broken bone, I think the hardest thing to come to terms with is the delay in getting words to paper. Bright side? In a young adult book I have on submission, one character has a cast. At least now I know how to make the scene super authentic…especially since this is the third time I’ve broken this arm.

While I won’t have my next books out for an additional few months while I wait for my arm to heal fully (or to get my typing speed faster), be assured that I am still putting pen to paper (or in this case voice to paper) and will have many exciting stories for you soon!

Stay cool nights of passion readers.

Avoid fights with kitchen cabinets.

(And a special shout out and thank you to my friend Dave who told me about the dictation on my iPad!)


A very (and I mean VERY) happy birthday to Ian Somerhalder !!! (Lost, The Vampire Diaries)


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,BannerWithInfo_ForWeb
Heather Novak
Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Instagram: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak

Hunting Witch Hazel: Now available

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Broken Bones and Broken Words by Heather Novak

  1. boundrose says:

    That’s a shame! Hope you heal up soon. In terms of writing romance I’d say go handwriting because you feel less awkward. One way I’ve learned to stop being as frustrated with how slow it can be is by thinking of it as cutting down some of the editing process. I say this because I’ve found that pieces I dictate have fewer overt errors and better(read more natural) wording than the ones I straight out type. Hope that helps! Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

