Dive Right In

I started a new day job this week. Funny as I’ve been waiting and planning for this change for a while and yet I hardly feel ready. Kind of reminds me when one sets out to right a book. I don’t remember what the stats are (and perhaps they’ve changed) but I believe there are quite a few people who plan to write a book versus those who actually finishing writing a book. I definitely remember that sense of achievement upon finishing my first book, even if I didn’t do anything with it. It’s such a great feat and if you think about all it takes from the beginning, it can be overwhelming but while you are doing it, it is simply one day at a time.

That’s how my new job feels-overwhelming! I’m enjoying it but I’m filled with the newbie jitters and that sense of insecurity that comes with not knowing everything or even some things that seem quite simple. I find myself having these internal pep talks. Telling myself simply to just “dive right in.” I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before but it is in moments like these I really envy my kids’ fearlessness. This week my two year old bit his lip and then bumped his mouth in the space of two hours. Did the bleeding lip and bruise stop him from running around just twenty minutes afterward? No, of course not. Call it fearlessness, joy of life, curiosity or simply some hormone that allows him to forget he was just in a really bad mood. Whatever it is, it fascinates me.

But alas, that is not meant for us adults who seem to whine and I’m taking the stance of diving right in. I’m not sure where it will lead me and I know I’m going to make mistakes along the way, but I’ll grow and tomorrow will be better. If it isn’t, I’m going to do an Amy Cuddy and fake it until I make it!

Happy writing this week and… be adventurous!

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in A writer's life, romance, Toni Kelly, Writer's Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

