The Good Side of Being Sick by Heather Novak

As my wedding date creeps closer and closer (15 days when this blog is posted!), my schedule is making me claustrophobic. Everything needs my attention RIGHT NOW! Everyone needs my opinion on everything. My to-do list is so long I can’t even look at it without heart palpitations. 

Therefore, when I had a severe allergic reaction to food earlier this month (yay food allergies!), everything went South. Like, molten lava south. My skin hurt, I couldn’t eat anything but soup and oatmeal for a week, and my head pounded so bad I couldn’t see straight. This does not a productive person make. (Side note: For all you people who doubt that food allergies exist, let me ASSURE YOU, trying to convince myself it “wasn’t real” didn’t work…)

After trying to fight against what my body needed for two days and making everything worse, I caved and sprawled on the couch after work all week and all weekend. I canceled every single plan, got my flu shot (because hey, I was already feeling terrible and I didn’t even notice the arm pain!), and downloaded a stack of ebooks/audiobooks.

It. Was. Glorious. 

I didn’t feel guilty about taking “me time” or about not answering my phone when family member #48 called me six times in one hour. I didn’t feel guilty about not running errands or neglecting to work on the wedding program. I didn’t feel guilty for consuming three audiobooks in two days as I dozed on the couch.

I spent time in 1800’s London and Scotland (I CAN’T HELP IT! I’m obsessed with Sarah MacLean), I watched a ridiculous about of Treehouse Masters on Animal Planet (the things that dude can do with wood is amazing!), and I ate so much soup I was going to turn into soup.

Outside of the being absolutely miserable part, it was a fantastic break to the hectic weeks that are approaching. With my day job’s busy season reaching fever pitch, I find myself ready to tackle it all after a week of rest.

Next time, however, I’m going to give myself permission to take that week off…without being sick. 

Moral of the story: Be kind to yourself. Give yourself a break. And when things go south? Grab a book. 


On this day in 1862 – U.S. President Lincoln issued the preliminary Emancipation Proclamation. It stated that all slaves held within rebel states would be free as of January 1, 1863.


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,BannerWithInfo_ForWeb
Heather Novak
Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Instagram: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak

Hunting Witch Hazel: Now available
Threat of Raine: 2016
Rosemary for Remembrance: 2016

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

