Racing Towards The Travers Stakes by Stacy Hoff

Tomorrow, Saturday the 27, is the day of the Travers Stakes in Saratoga Springs, NY, as any horse racing fan can tell you. This event, also called the Mid-Summer Derby, is one of the highlights of the racing season. And one of the most exciting, too. Is it a big deal? Big enough American Pharaoh ran this race after wining the Triple Crown.

nrmPhoto of the Nat. Museum of Racing

Before I wrote my upcoming novel, JOCKEYING FOR YOU, I knew nothing about horse racing. But researching the sport for my book was more exciting than I could have imagined. Now I’m passing my knowledge on to the next generation—my kids.

Last weekend my whole family traveled to Saratoga so I could show them about the sport, first hand. I took them both to the track and to the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame. The Museum was first. It was a good place to start, giving an interesting, easy-to-understand overview. The wide range of exhibits, from movies to mannequins, was more than enough to keep my kids attention.

JockeyGoggles

The race track was second. My boys “bet” on a horse, which came in last place. Good thing they didn’t actually use their allowance money. But they didn’t go home empty-handed. Famed jockey Samuel Camacho, Jr. gave them a pair of his racing goggles after my younger one got up the courage to ask. Better still, Camacho, Jr., who currently ranks number 10 by the New York Racing Association, was lovely to my boys, even autographing the goggles for them. (The picture of which is above).

JockeyingForYou1800

For my family, horse racing was a sure bet for our weekend. I am glad my writing endeavors provided me with yet another wonderful way to spend my time. No matter how our horse comes in!

Will you be watching the Travers?

Stacy Hoff news update – DESIRE IN THE ARCTIC is a finalist in the “I Heart Indie” contest, as chosen by book clubs selected by the Las Vegas chapter of Romance Writers of America (LVRWA).  

DesireInTheArctic1800

http://amzn.to/1KjfP9V

WEBSITE & SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS FOR STACY HOFF:

Stacy_Cartoon_v2

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorStacyHoff

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/authorStacyHoff

Web: http://www.stacyhoff.com

DesireintheEverglades1800

DESIRE IN THE EVERGLADES http://amzn.to/1YEseie

LawfullyYours1800

LAWFULLY YOURS http://amzn.to/1Ky5CZm

SOL cartoon Sol cover new

SEASON OF LOVE http://amzn.to/1NsByfu

This entry was posted in A writer's life, For Family Fun, Great Places, Settings, Stacy Hoff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Racing Towards The Travers Stakes by Stacy Hoff

  1. gailingis says:

    Great post Stacy. Terrific way to connect with your family and share your writing with them, they are so lucky. What magic.

  2. summersrye says:

    Great post. I had to do lots of virtual research on horse racing too when I wrote my mystery/paranormal romance back in 2010/2011. In 2013 I went to the Kentucky Horse Park and had a great experience. Sometimes research is as much, if not more, fun than the writing. Best wishes.

  3. sounds like you had a great trip! Research rocks 🙂 All the best to you!

  4. I’ve loved horse racing my whole life! The heroine of my series The Only One is an equestrian grand prix jumping competitor. In real life, my daughter was rookie of the year in grand prix show jumping. Anything horse works for me! I know I’m going to read this!

Leave a Reply

