Be Open to a New Opening by Heather Novak

As I navigate down the “looking for an agent” highway, I’m struck by how important it is to never stop learning and striving for what you want. With several partials/fulls of my manuscript out, and an ever growing pile of rejections, I’m well into my querying journey.

queryingI took a chance on a twitter pitch contest and was happy to get a request for a partial which led to a full. (For those confused, a partial is a specified part of the manuscript – usually first 50 pages/first few chapters. A full is your entire completed manuscript.) I received an extremely encouraging revise and resubmit email stating I need to rework the beginning.

I promised to work on it before the wedding (because after the wedding, you all get Threat of Raine and Rosemary for Remembrance!) and promptly went into OH MY GOD I DON’T EVEN KNOW HOW TO CHANGE THIS AND WHEN AM I GOING TO HAVE TIME?!

So between having to reorder my invitation proofs, locate a new hair stylist for my wedding after my first two fell through, add in another snag with the invitations, an issue with our dance, and a delayed wedding dress, I was going crazy. To decompress, I decided to lock myself in my house on Saturday and clean everything. EVERYTHING. Also, I live off Woodward Avenue and there was this HUGE event called the Woodward Dream Cruise Saturday, which is where thousands of people come to watch fancy old cars drive around, so I stayed safely locked away.

I threw on an audiobook and got to work. When I finished that audiobook (I told you, all day cleaning!) I put on my book writing Spotify playlist. Then I took a break and texted my friends about a few ideas. Suddenly, it hit me. I was starting the book in the wrong place.

I WAS STARTING THE BOOK IN THE WRONG PLACE! 

The hardest part with coming to this realization is that I have to change my beginning. I love my beginning, but it’s not the right one for this story. Cutting your favorite lines is always the hardest thing. The good news is that I can try to incorporate several later on in the book.

I was up until early Sunday morning writing notes and sketching a new outline for the first few chapters. A game plan is coming together.

I’m hoping to snag a few hours this week to start the rewrites, you know, after stuffing invites, designing the program, writing the ceremony, selecting a reading, finding shoes I don’t hate (I’ve been through like 20, it’s ridiculous), and day job, OMG SOMEONE MAKE ME A COFFEE IV STAT. But what needs to be done needs to be done. 

At least I did my laundry and I now have clean socks 🙂

Stay awesome Nights of Passion. 


On this day in 1939 – The movie “Wizard of Oz” opened around the United States.


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,BannerWithInfo_ForWeb
Heather Novak
Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Instagram: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak

Hunting Witch Hazel: Now available
Threat of Raine: 2016
Rosemary for Remembrance: 2016

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

