Go For It

Why do we spend so much time living in fear? Will it really matter to us as we are lying on our death beds? And if it does matter, what will be thinking about, the fact that we never tried something due to fear or the fact that we might have failed?

The truth is I don’t know the answers to any of the questions, but in my mind, I’m the type of person who doesn’t really see there is much to lose in most cases (I say most, not all). I have a peer of mine who was meant to take a financial exam the same week I was and he backed out. Said he wasn’t ready. But I don’t believe it. I saw him studying, I had him explain things to me. He has the skills, just not the nerves which I get… and I’m not a doctor… perhaps that is enough to keep you out of the game for a prolonged period. Gosh, I’ve thought about running a ½ marathon for ages, hoping that someday I’d start thinking about a whole marathon. I’m definitely not in shape now but I never really get in shape—partly because I can’t ever get my mind wrapped around accepting that pushing myself is going to hurt a bit in a way that I’m not quite used to.

I will say I’m proud of myself for passing that damn test and for now applying for a job I’m truly excited about. I set out to do it over a year ago and it honestly felt like it was never going to happen. Determination and commitment are pretty hard traits to stick to, especially when plans go beyond a couple weeks.

So what’s it going to be for you? Anything you want so bad but are too scared to go for? Do you really think you are going to care when you are an old man or lady rocking out on your front porch (I know that is not the image all of you see for yourselves but humor me) and your grandchild asks you about regrets in life? My thought, go for it and see what happens. It may be the best move you’ve made yet or at least, we learn another one of life’s many lessons

 

This entry was posted in A writer's life, romance, Toni Kelly and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

