A Writer’s Ever Changing Finish Line by Stacy Hoff

Belmont Racetrack

A short while back, I wrote about the upcoming publication of my fourth novel, JOCKEYING FOR YOU http://wp.me/prBca-4vj.  The thrill of getting another book over the finish line has been a real high for me. This time more than any other. Because my upcoming new release is based on a sport I originally knew nothing about—horse racing.

There were plenty of times I doubted myself. Would I ever get this book done? would I be able to accurately convey the complex world of horse racing? Would the story line be as compelling as the sport?

When this story was finally sold to my publisher I felt like one of the thoroughbreds in my book, standing in the winner’s circle. Sweaty. Heart pounding wildly. And out of breath.

finish_flag

The high of having an upcoming publication date still hasn’t faded. But like a thoroughbred, I cannot rest on my laurels. There are still more races left for me to compete in. For me, that means entering the authors’ race with more books.

To be honest, releasing a new book is scary due to the sheer volume of other contenders. Thousands of other authors racing to cross the finish-line, too. Sometimes I worry. Will my entry stand out? Or be lost in the crowd?

horse_1

The winner’s circle awaits.

What are your goals? Do you find it hard to cross your finish line?

JOCKEYING FOR YOU will be released September 28, 2016! Stay tuned for a cover reveal!

Stacy_Cartoon_v2

WEBSITE & SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS FOR STACY HOFF:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorStacyHoff

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/authorStacyHoff

Web: http://www.stacyhoff.com

AMAZON LINK FOR DESIRE IN THE ARCTIC by Stacy Hoff:

DesireInTheArctic1800

http://amzn.to/1KjfP9V

AMAZON LINK FOR DESIRE IN THE EVERGLADES by Stacy Hoff:

DesireintheEverglades1800

http://amzn.to/1YEseie

AMAZON LINK FOR LAWFULLY YOURS by Stacy Hoff:

LawfullyYours1800

http://amzn.to/1Ky5CZm

AMAZON LINK FOR SEASON OF LOVE (Box set with Stacy Hoff):

SOL cartoon  Sol cover new

http://amzn.to/1NsByfu

 

This entry was posted in A writer's life, publishing, romance, Sports romance, Stacy Hoff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Writer’s Ever Changing Finish Line by Stacy Hoff

  1. PJ Sharon says:

    Congrats on another book! Major accomplishment, Stacy. So proud of you:-) As the saying goes, “I love having written a book.” Writing one is another story, lol. I love setting small goals and seeing them through. Meeting a word count, checking off a daily to-do list, or completing a workout. The big goals have the mixed blessing for me of making me feel happy and sad. There’s always a big let down for me after the release of a book. It somehow feels anti-climactic after all the hard work. That might be different if I hit a best sellers list out of the gate…gggg.

    Best of luck!

    • stacyhoff says:

      PJ, thanks so much! I love your approach; a sensible way of birthing our literary babies.

  2. gailingis says:

    Your new release sounds exciting, JOCKEYING FOR YOU http://wp.me/prBca-4vj. Horse racing, another world to discover. Good for you for exploring and reporting. For me, I am just beginning to discover how to shout about, Indigo Sky, my earlier released book using the newly released formats–a print book, now up on Amazon and B&N, and an upcoming audiobook that has it’s own release world and its own reviews.This is all rolled into one package of excitement, fun, and mystery.

  3. Congrats, Stacy. I wonder…what made you pick horse racing, if it’s something you were never involved with?
    Best of luck with your new release! Having once been involved in the racing industry (for a VERY brief time) I can’t wait to read it.

    • stacyhoff says:

      Thanks, Claire! Before coming up with the concept for this book, I had only been to a race track once – 25 years ago when my husband & I started dating. Interestingly, it was the same Saratoga track that appears in my story (along with Belmont Park). Despite us losing a whopping five dollars, the experience was a lot of fun. (By the way, next week I’ll be blogging about my return to Saratoga. I had visited last summer for research, and will again travel there this summer to reminisce!)

      To answer your wuestion as to why I chose horseracing as a setting for story, it happened organically. Who knows how my mind works???

  4. Congrats on the new book. It’s always a race to the finish. 🙂

  5. Good for you, Stacey! I love horses and can’t wait to read it!

  6. Every time you finish a book and it’s published you’re one step closer to winning the race!
    Thanks,
    Tema Merback
    Writing as Belle Ami

Leave a Reply

