Keep On Writing by Stacy Hoff

horse bucking bronco

Ever since I decided to get back in the writing saddle I’ve been diligently typing away. It’s been one heck of a ride. I’ve fallen off. Gotten back on. Only to crash on the dirt track once again.

I am partially to blame for my rough journey. As a true “pantser” (someone who “writes by the seat of their pants” instead of plotting out their story) I often face roadblocks. Sometimes I can easily steer my script around. Other times the beast stops dead.

I’ve done my best to self-diagnose the problem. When I hit a roadblock I either suffer from: (1) my internal movie screen going dark, or, (2) I have the next scene(s) play out, but I think it’s too dumb/off-the-wall/not “romance format-y” enough to actually write it down.

If I’m dealing with (1): I find myself completely inactive until the screen magically starts showing the movie again. This is my “hanging around miserable stage” and is very frustrating. Is it akin to the ancient Greek’s concept of an artist waiting around for the muse to show? I don’t think the Greeks ever found a solution. (If they did, I definitely want you to let me know. I am not one to ignore ancient wisdom.)

If I’m dealing with (2): I waste my creative energy worrying about making my scene more acceptable instead of just writing the bugger. I’ve really got to start jumping over this self-imposed hurdle. After all, I usually come to accept what I’ve written. More importantly, writing (despite my doubt) keeps my manuscript moving.

Moving ahead is critically important to me. The better I feel about my progress, the less frustrated I become. The less frustrated I am, the easier the words flow. The easier the flow, the faster my next novel is done. Positive writing is a cycle I’ve GOT to stay on.

Maybe my muse will hang around more. Geez, I hope so. I’d sure love some company on my ride.

What do you do to keep yourself in strapped into the writing saddle?

Stacy_Cartoon_v2

WEBSITE & SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS FOR STACY HOFF:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorStacyHoff

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/authorStacyHoff

Web: http://www.stacyhoff.com

AMAZON LINK FOR DESIRE IN THE ARCTIC by Stacy Hoff:

DesireInTheArctic1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01AMUVJKW?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B01AMUVJKW&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR DESIRE IN THE EVERGLADES by Stacy Hoff:

DesireintheEverglades1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NFSMCYG?creativeASIN=B00NFSMCYG&linkCode=w00&linkId=6PCZIZBWKBWUSNHI&ref_=as_sl_pc_qf_sp_asin_til&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR LAWFULLY YOURS by Stacy Hoff:

LawfullyYours1800

 

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00U7U2WCC?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00U7U2WCC&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

 

AMAZON LINK FOR SEASON OF LOVE (Box set with Stacy Hoff):

SOL cartoon Sol cover new

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00X3ZAR3E?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00X3ZAR3E&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

This entry was posted in fear, romance, romance novels, Stacy Hoff, Writer's life, writer’s block, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Keep On Writing by Stacy Hoff

  1. When I lose my way, I set up an interview for my characters! I answer 10-20 questions in their voices and discuss their habits. Totally helps me.

  2. Thanks for this kick in the keyboard, Stacy. Exactly what I needed to spur me back into the saddle of my current work in progress!

  3. Pingback: Keep On Writing by Stacy Hoff – Louise Foerster

Leave a Reply

