Write Every Day, But Maybe Not…by Heather Novak

The “write every day” mantra is absolutely true…until it isn’t. 

I am a big proponent of writing every day, especially when you have an active project. But I want to amend this advice: Work toward your craft every day when not under deadline. 

Why the amendment you may ask? Because being in a state of constant work is terrible for your creativity. 

I haven’t had longer than a two week break from writing in about three years and it’s really starting to show around my edges. I need time to stop worrying about “job” of writing, and dive into the creative space. So, with my wedding coming up, I’ve decided to take a break from writing until after the honeymoon.

As part of my day job, I get to write non-fiction and fill my brain with proposals, campaigns, and fun facts. During my long commute, I listen to audiobooks or music. Without a looming deadline and massive anxiety, I’m flying through my TBR pile and watching movies.

The result: my creativity is crazier than ever!

I’ve already drafted my next full length book’s storyline (modern fairytale!) as well as made notes on what I’ll need to research. I have notes on the sequel to Hunting Witch Hazel and notes on a paranormal new adult novel that is to follow that.

While I’m not writing every day, I’m actively engaging my brain in the book world. If I’m not reading, I’m building book playlists, reading blogs, taking classes (we start dance class this week!), or watching movies. All of these things will help my writing, whether it be prep work for a book or bettering my health.

So don’t beat yourself up about not writing when you’re in-between projects. Remember to take time to nurse your creativity back to health. Your books will thank you.

 


On this day in 2007 – The seventh and last book of the Harry Potter series, “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,” was released.


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,BannerWithInfo_ForWeb
Heather Novak
Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Instagram: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak

Hunting Witch Hazel: Now available
Threat of Raine: 2016
Rosemary for Remembrance: 2016

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Write Every Day, But Maybe Not…by Heather Novak

Leave a Reply

