Surviving the (Book) Breakup by Heather Novak

I’m suffering from a breakup, friends…a book breakup. It’s particularly bad this time  because I’ve spent over six years thinking about this book, trying to figure out how to bring it to life. (Meanwhile, I wrote several other books, some that will never see the light of day, even over my dead body…)

Now that the book has been edited, proofread, and sent to agents, I am in a state of discontent. For six years, I have held these characters in my heart, learning about them, learning how to craft each line of their journey. Now, it’s time to let them go and make their way into the world. Empty-nest syndrome for my characters. I feel like a parent, waiting to see if they are going to make it on their own or if I’ll need to pick up the pieces and glue them back together in a different way.

It’s the wait that will get you. One moment you’re flying high, so proud that you’ve written the book you’ve been dying to write; knowing that you’ve written the book the way it was always meant to be done. Then you’re crashing down into the dark moments, when you worry that the book isn’t enough. When you wait for the rejection emails that may or may not come (since silence is also a form of rejection.) 

Usually, I’d just jump into another book, but I am currently on a writing break until mid-October. So, how do I pull myself out of this terrible funk? 

  1. Friend dates. I’ve been on a few of these over the last week and they honestly give me life. From watching bad YouTube to making food for friends, it keeps me busy and helps me reconnect with friends I’ve neglected because of deadlines.
  2. Silly music. Turning on my book’s playlist isn’t going to help the separation. Remember, a breakup is a breakup. I pop on my favorites like Hanson (YES they are still making music. YES I saw them on ABC and watched it like 8 times.), One Direction (no shame), and Louisa Wendorff (my current obsession).
  3. Dance lessons. Fiance and I decided to take a dance class before our wedding. Having scheduled time together, especially exercise, will keep us healthy and happy. 
  4. Creative projects. I did a storyboard for my engagement shoot, I’m working on a picture book for my nieces and nephews, and I admit I did an outline for a modern fairytale I’m working on. Not the whole outline or even a synopsis, but just making notes on the storyline to ease the pain in my chest (which happens when I feel the desperate desire to write.) 
  5. Eloisa James. I just wrapped up her fairytale series and am moving down the list, grabbing ebooks with audible narration for a few dollars more. 

Sure, I could clean my bathroom, but let’s not get ahead of ourselves!!! 

What do you do after a bad book breakup?


On this day in 1993 – The U.S. Postal Service released 29-cent stamps that honored four Broadway musicals. The featured scenes were from “My Fair Lady,” “Porgy and Bess,” “Show Boat,” and “Oklahoma!”


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,BannerWithInfo_ForWeb
Heather Novak
Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Instagram: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak

Hunting Witch Hazel: Now available
Threat of Raine: 2016
Rosemary for Remembrance: 2016

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Surviving the (Book) Breakup by Heather Novak

  1. Erika Cooper says:

    We can watch bad YouTube any time, love! Glad I could help 🙂

Leave a Reply

