Searching For A Fairytale by Heather Novak

World building is hard. World building in a fantasy world is even harder. While I’m currently on a “writing break” until after my wedding in October (and by “writing break” I mean only casually writing notes instead of bleeding at my computer), I’m researching my next project for the traditional publishing market – My modern fairytale. Trust me, it’s going to be amazing. 

My research happened accidentally. Over the weekend, fiance and I headed to the Edsel and Eleanor Ford House (yes, those Fords) in Grosse Pointe Shores to map out where we want our engagement photos taken on the property. The moment I stepped foot on the trail, I knew this had to be the setting of my book. Right on the border of Lake St. Clair, it’s like something out of a…wait for it…fairytale. (Yes, I went there.)

From the old stone buildings to the stunning lake views, I wanted to stay lost there forever. Or at least until November, because snow. Here are my favorite photos of the property. 

image image image image Makes you want to curl right up on a bench and lay out in the sun, am I right?

 

image image imageimage

 

imageI took dozens more pictures, but you get my drift. This land and these grounds are magical, which makes them super easy to put into a story. 

imageWhenever I have trouble world building, I spend hours looking for real places that will help me visualize what I’m writing. For instance, I wouldn’t have thought twice about how to describe the windows until I saw this window. Now, I can’t imagine my story any other way. What about that view from the swimming pool to the lake? Halfway across that lake is Canada. How amazing to be able to recreate a similar stunning view in my book.

It only takes one picture to get the ball rolling.

How do you like to world build?


On this day in 1994 – Amazon.com, Inc. was founded in Seattle, Washington under the name “Cadabra.”


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,BannerWithInfo_ForWeb
Heather Novak
Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Instagram: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak

Hunting Witch Hazel: Now available
Threat of Raine: 2016
Rosemary for Remembrance: 2016

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Searching For A Fairytale by Heather Novak

  1. Artemis Crow says:

    Beautiful photos, definitely inspirational. I’m a visual person so I used images from Deviant Art and Pinterest to help me create the subterranean paranormal world of the InBetween, and the many unique species I dreamed up to populate it in my series the Zodiac Assassins.

Leave a Reply

