I Only Have Eyes For You by Heather Novak

Readers,

I’m having trouble this week.I’m at the awkward stage where I’m waiting for feedback from my beta readers (side note, did you know they make WINE ICE CREAM?! I digress) and I have a book hangover from my own book!

As my week is full of all the things I neglected to do while obsessing over edits (laundry pile of DOOM), I tried to pick up an audiobook or two to keep me company. Only, there was a problem…

The books I wanted desperately to read were not on audiobook yet. On deck, for when I can enjoy every morsel of their goodness, are:

Grin and Beard It by Penny Reid

USA TODAY Bestselling romantic comedy series
Sienna Diaz is everyone’s favorite “fat” funny lady. The movie studio executives can’t explain it, but her films are out-grossing all the fit and trim headliners and Hollywood’s most beautiful elite. The simple truth is, everyone loves plus-sized Sienna.

But she has a problem, she can’t read maps and her sense of direction is almost as bad as her comedic timing is stellar. Therefore, when Sienna’s latest starring role takes her to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park she finds herself continually lost while trying to navigate the back roads of Green Valley, Tennessee. Much to her consternation, Sienna’s most frequent savior is a ridiculously handsome, charming, and cheeky Park Ranger by the name of Jethro Winston.

Sienna is accustomed to high levels of man-handsome, so it’s not Jethro’s chiseled features or his perfect physique that make Sienna stutter. It’s his southern charm. And gentlemanly manners. And habit of looking at her too long and too often.

Sienna has successfully navigated the labyrinth of Hollywood heart-throbs. But can she traverse the tenuous trails of Tennessee without losing her head? Or worse, her heart?

Don’t Wake the Dead by C.C. Wood

My name is Zoe Thorne and I’m just an ordinary woman. There’s nothing special about me…except that I can see ghosts.

I always felt like an outsider, until I meet Malachi Flemming and his merry band of goofballs. When I begin working with them as a paranormal investigator, we stumbled across a spirit on a deserted, country road. Hank Murphy was murdered decades ago and he desperately wants justice.

As we search for the culprit, it becomes clear that the killer is determined to protect their identity, even if it means picking us off one by one.
Desperate people will go to any lengths to keep their secrets buried.

Sometimes it’s best not to wake the dead unless you plan to join them.

The Bird and the Sword by Amy Harmon

Swallow, daughter, pull them in, those words that sit upon your lips. Lock them deep inside your soul, hide them ‘til they’ve time to grow. Close your mouth upon the power, curse not, cure not, ‘til the hour. You won’t speak and you won’t tell, you won’t call on heaven or hell. You will learn and you will thrive. Silence, daughter. Stay alive.

The day my mother was killed, she told my father I wouldn’t speak again, and she told him if I died, he would die too. Then she predicted the king would sell his soul and lose his son to the sky.
My father has a claim to the throne, and he is waiting in the shadows for all of my mother’s words to come to pass. He wants desperately to be king, and I just want to be free.
But freedom will require escape, and I’m a prisoner of my mother’s curse and my father’s greed. I can’t speak or make a sound, and I can’t wield a sword or beguile a king. In a land purged of enchantment, love might be the only magic left, and who could ever love . . . a bird?

Rush by Shae Ross

Priscilla Winslow has a mouth that spits fiery sarcasm faster than I can throw a touchdown. But I’ve wanted her ever since I saw her in that Bo Peep outfit on Halloween. Yep, I’m a sheep who will follow that little hottie anywhere. There’s one problem…she hates me. Just because we ended up in jail and quite possibly ruined both our futures…

They’re changing the rules…

College Quarterback Preston Rush is living the dream. He’s leading his team to the National Championship and days away from earning a ‘first round draft pick’ label. When he meets Little Bo Peep at a Halloween party, he thinks he’s scored big. Instead, he wakes up in a jail cell with the corseted beauty. Because of him, she’s in trouble and when he discovers her true identity, he realizes, his nightmare is just beginning.

The always shooting-for-perfection Priscilla Winslow can’t believe her good deed has cost her a soccer career. Even though she knows it isn’t Preston’s fault, she can’t forgive him for the disaster that is her life. She just wishes her damn body would get the message. Every time she sees him, it’s all she can do not to kiss him.

When everything crashes down around him, Preston will have to decide if doing the right thing is worth losing it all.

They sound amazing, right?!

So, while I was waiting for prime-reading-time, I tried to pick out books I wouldn’t obsess over, but would enjoy nonetheless.

World, I failed.

I even picked up books from authors I’ve loved in the past, and I still was just not connecting with any of the stories. They were too big or too sad or too violent for me. I love big, sad, and violent, but not on a “break” week. I want more puppies and kitties and less plane crashes and car wrecks.

Then the question appeared — do I not like these books because I’m desperate to read the other books? Or do I not like these books because I actually don’t like them?

Unfortunately, I don’t have the answer, although it may definitely be my desperation to sink my teeth into a book-meal I really want, as opposed to a small book-snack, if you will.

So how did I solve this problem, you ask?
I revisited books that I’ve listened to before. Books that I know I enjoy and can put on in the background. This is my secret. I love re-listening to books.

What’s the book you’re dying to sink your teeth into?


On This Day in 1860 – The Ms. Ann Stevens book “Malaeska, the Indian Wife of the White Hunter” was offered for sale for a dime. It was the first published “dime novel.”


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,BannerWithInfo_ForWeb
Heather Novak
Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Instagram: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak

Hunting Witch Hazel: Now available
Threat of Raine: Summer 2016
Rosemary for Remembrance: Late Summer 2016

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

