My Weekend Fling by Heather Novak

Hello Conference Hangover!

SP6The Chicago North RWA threw a SPECTACULAR conference this year called Spring Fling 2016! It was a chart topper for me. Close to home, full of authors I adored, as well as an awesome group of editors and agents (especially one in particular 😛 ).

This year’s awesome keynote speakers were Robyn Carr (I KNOW! She’s as amazing as you think she is), Courtney Milan (she floored me, I love her), and *fangirling* Christina Lauren (the combined pen name of long-time writing partners/besties/soulmates/brain-twins Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings). If you didn’t cry through at least one of these keynotes, then there’s something wrong with you. #tearseverywhere

Fiancé, being the amazing partner he is, drove with me the 5 hours to the conference and was basically the best assistant and fiancé ever. He got me food when needed, ran my pitch with me over and over (and over and over) again, and set up my station for the book signing while I pitched to an agent.

Keynote with Christina Lauren (tears, everywhere)

What I adore about these small conference is the approachability of every author. My girls had drinks with Robyn Carr, I had a talk about agents and promo with Christina and Lauren, and Courtney Milan laid it all on the line about her struggles and successes. I sat next to author Mary Nova at the book signing and we had a blast together.

The conference wasn’t about who was better than who, it was about “how can I help my fellow writer”?  If I were to sum up the weekend: Pitch workshops, critique nights, writing curled up on couches, late night panicked text messages about meeting an agent/editor, learning what to do and what not to do, making new friends, and raising a glass to our triumphs and failures.

If I had to pick my all-time favorite moments…

This panel gave me life! Courtney Milan, Christina Lauren, and Robyn Carr!

1) I went to check in to my agent pitch session. Christina and Lauren were talking to the moderator and I told them, “I’m going to come fangirl over you at the signing, but I have to do a pitch first!” (I literally had ten books from the Beautiful Series for them to sign…)

They asked me about my pitch, gave me a pep talk, and really encouraged me. I nailed that pitch. Like, it was the best I had ever done, and the agent was as excited about the book as me and invited me to send a full manuscript for her review! Then, when I went to Christina Lauren’s table at the signing, the first thing they asked was how the pitch went! (Also, seriously, I love their writing.)

 

Me at my first signing!

2) Meeting fans of my book. OF MY BOOK! I have fans, it’s super surreal.

3) Meeting Clara Kensie. Because her book Run To You is one of my favorites.

4) Hanging out with my GDRWA girls! I loved getting closer to them and sharing our stories.

5) Meeting a very cool agent and her requesting a full manuscript to review 🙂

 

 

I could talk forever about the fun I had, but I need to get back to finishing my manuscript to submit! Here are my favorite pictures from the weekend:

Author Sage Spelling

 

MK Schiller

Author MK Schiller!

Aliza

Author Aliza Mann!

Author Mary Nova and I hanging out! She writes some very steamy stuff!

The epic Robyn Carr and author Roni Hall hanging out during the signing!

Robyn Carr and author Linda Bradley

GDRWA authors Linda Bradley and Roni Hall at the signing

Author Roni Hall with the unparalleled Christina and Lauren of Christina Lauren

GDRWA Members who were also in attendance!

 

Were you at Chicago Spring Fling? I’d love to hear about your weekend!

On this day in 1959 – The word “Frisbee” became a registered trademark of Wham-O.


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,BannerWithInfo_ForWeb
Heather Novak
Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Instagram: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak

Hunting Witch Hazel: Now available
Threat of Raine: Summer 2016
Rosemary for Remembrance: Late Summer 2016

 

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Weekend Fling by Heather Novak

  1. Roni Hall says:

    It was an absolute blast! Thanks for summing it up so nicely. The Chicago chapters really put on a quality conference. I recommend it to everyone next time it comes around.

Leave a Reply

