Cheaper is Not Always Better by Heather Novak

While frantically prepping for the Chicago RWA Spring Fling signing on May 20-21, which I only confirmed I could attend a week ago, I did a crash course in trying to figure out the best bang for my buck. I needed postcards, business cards, pens, banners, and books! I used CreateSpace for my books, a company I have used in the passed and am happy with.

But what about everything else? The early 20’s recent college grad still tucked away inside my professional businesswoman immediately thought Vistaprint…and then wondered if they were my best option.

I have been working with a graphic designer to design my Save Our Dates and wedding invitations. He suggested PSPrint, which turned out EXCELLENT. Sure, the price wasn’t as wallet-friendly as Vistaprint, but I really loved the way they did postcards. I chose PSPrint for my postcards and business cards.

unnamedNext, my banner. I tried for about four hours to create my own six foot banner for the signing. It was pretty tragic. Tears were involved. I reached out to Najla Qamber Designs, who had created a (future) book cover for me, and Najla expertly made me a killer banner!

After researching reviews from different websites and this awesome blog post, I picked GotPrint for my banner. Then everything went to h-e-double-hockey-sticks. It was awful. I talked to customer service SIX TIMES and still got nowhere.

I canceled the order with GotPrint and went to  my go-to Vistaprint. The issues with GotPrint set me back enough days to need rush shipping. Banner + stand + rush ship from Vistaprint was less money than the banner alone anywhere else. I’ll keep you posted on how the quality looks, since my experience with them has been hit and miss in the past.

Don’t forget pens! I recommend 4imprint and Discount Mugs for pens. Both are good and will send you samples of pens. Don’t get stuck with 1,000 pens that leave globs of ink everywhere or don’t write at all.

I know that everyone has different budgets and different experiences. My best advice is to research. Sometimes it pays to buy the better quality product, because it makes a difference. I keep the pens, magnets, bookmarks, and postcards that are good quality. Everything else goes into the recycle bin. As for my banner, I’m hoping Vistaprint pulls through…unlike the disaster that was my holiday card (which they eventually replaced.)

What sites do you like to use for your swag?


On This Day in 1984 – South African prisoner Nelson Mandela saw his wife for the first time in 22 years.


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,BannerWithInfo_ForWeb
Heather Novak
Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Instagram: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak

Hunting Witch Hazel: May 17, 2016
Threat of Raine: Spring 2016
Rosemary for Remembrance: Spring 2016

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

