Romancing the Villain by Heather Novak

I love villains who tug at my heart strings and evoke my emotions. Loki from the Avengers? Perfect example (and I’m not just saying that because I’m in love with Tom Hiddleston.) I also love strong heroines who aren’t lovable until we’re forced to love them. 

While I was recovering from a neck injury, I binge watched Jessica Jones on Netflix and it had everything I adore! …and a lot of blood. But I digress.

Jessica Jones’ character cocktail was enticing:

  1.  A damaged heroine who was just an a**hole who also did some terrible things in her life. Still, I adored her.
  2. A fantastic hero who also kept me guessing. He’s got some good, some bad, and some edge. And he’s very pretty.
  3. A villain who played with my heartstrings and my mind sockets (who is also my favorite Dr. Who! There. I said it.)
  4. A twisted web of lies and love that kept me hitting play over and over again on each episode
  5. Solid, 3-dimensional, supporting characters
  6. Strong emotions interspersed with humor

Season one wrapped leaving me satisfied yet just a little hungry for more. Just the perfect amount of cliffhanger.

This is the recipe for a good story.

I am a strong supporter of the idea that you cannot write what you don’t understand. This is why it’s so important to study the genre you want to write, and then study everything around that genre. While Jessica Jones may not seem like the obvious choice for a budding YA/NA romance author, it was the perfect story to get my mind turning. I even drafted a proposal for my next book after.

What are you watching on Netflix these days?


On this day in 1930 – The first organized night baseball game was played in Independence, Kansas.


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,BannerWithInfo_ForWeb
Heather Novak
Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Instagram: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak

Hunting Witch Hazel: Spring 2016
Threat of Raine: Spring 2016
Rosemary for Remembrance: Spring 2016

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

