Celebrating 400 Years of Shakespeare!

celebrating-william-shakespeare-5125440101416960_2-hp

Yesterday was William Shakespeare’s 452nd birthday!

And the 400the anniversary of his death.

My school celebrated by selling cupcakes with candles and a Shakespearean insult.

cupcake-candle-cupcakes-cream-blue-background-35768665

Shakespeare was a marvel at writing insults. Here are some of my favorite examples:

“All the infections that the sun sucks up”

“Elvish-marked abortive, rooting hog”

“Veriest varlet that ever chewed with a tooth”

“I do desire we may be better strangers”

“You dwarf, you minimus”

“Hang off thou cat, thou burr! Vile thing”

“I’ll beat thee, but I should infect my hands”

and my personal favorite:

“Would thou were clean enough to spit on!”

Happy Birthday, Will! And many more!

william shakespeare

 

 

This entry was posted in Jenna Jaxon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

