Back in the (Writing) Saddle by Stacy Hoff

 

horse bucking bronco

I love writing. But geez, writing is hard! Despite the fact I had a new release come out this past February (DESIRE IN THE ARCTIC), I am already working on another novel. Unfortunately, my draft is progressing at the speed of a sloth on sleeping pills. Every word on the page is a triumph, because it’s taking ten thousand years to put down each one. At this pace, my newest story will get done in the year 4045.

Writing is the one of the “highs” of my life. I love creating “happily ever afters.” Regardless, crafting new characters and plot lines can still be daunting. Trying to do things “right” can sometimes seize me up. I’m afraid deadlines and word-count goals may stymie me even more. I write best when I’m unfettered.

I have author friends who tell me that I’m doing things backwards. They say that word-count goals loosen up a writer and keep them inspired. I am now wondering—can inspiration be found in a word-count goal? Or can a high word-count happen only if one connects to their muse?

I’d love your ideas, because it’s time for me to get back in the (writing) saddle.

Stacy_Cartoon_v2
WEBSITE & SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS FOR STACY HOFF:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorStacyHoff

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/authorStacyHoff

Web: http://www.stacyhoff.com

AMAZON LINK FOR DESIRE IN THE ARCTIC by Stacy Hoff:

DesireInTheArctic1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01AMUVJKW?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B01AMUVJKW&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR DESIRE IN THE EVERGLADES by Stacy Hoff:

DesireintheEverglades1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NFSMCYG?creativeASIN=B00NFSMCYG&linkCode=w00&linkId=6PCZIZBWKBWUSNHI&ref_=as_sl_pc_qf_sp_asin_til&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR LAWFULLY YOURS by Stacy Hoff:

LawfullyYours1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00U7U2WCC?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00U7U2WCC&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR HOT SEDUCTION (box set contributors: Jamie K. Schmidt, Stacy Hoff, Holly Roberts, Theresa Hissong, Susan Griscom & Leia Shaw):

Hot Seduction cover

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B014RQX8GU?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B014RQX8GU&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR SEASON OF LOVE (Box set with Stacy Hoff):

 

SOL cartoon

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00X3ZAR3E?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00X3ZAR3E&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

This entry was posted in A writer's life, Craft, fear, problem-solving, stress, writing, journal, diary, resolve, worked, relax., romance, Stacy Hoff, What inspires you?, writer's inspiration, Writing Craft, Writing Exercises and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Back in the (Writing) Saddle by Stacy Hoff

  1. maggiermundy says:

    So feeling your pain. Life and family sickness has sucked energy and its hard to get back into the swing. When talking numbers I try to do 500 words an hour and can get 2,000 done on a good day. I have given myself time off from writing to plot. It gets rid of the fear that you don’t have a story.

  2. With a full time job, I’m lucky if I get 1000 words on a weekday. Weekends are better, and if I’m on a roll, I can get 3000 words written before anyone else in the house stirs on Saturday morning. But I do find, unless I set myself a goal, nothing gets done. Instead of setting word count goals, Stacy, why not give yourself a deadline date? “I will have the rough draft of this book done by May 30th.” I did that with Hearts Unloched, and then secured an editor with a deposit, so I HAD to get it done before my deadline of March1st! Good luck!

  3. annabowling says:

    I went through a period, not that long ago, when word counts completely paralyzed me. Every writing session made me feel as though I was trying to swim through Jell-O. What most helped in getting me out of that was a shift in perspective – forget the word count. Tell the story, and do it in the way that works best for me, which is…babbling. Give me a pen and a notebook and let it all spill out onto the page, in messy, disjointed fashion. Then let me talk about it to a writer friend, then mush things into a semblance of order and fill in the blanks. Once the rough draft is done, then it’s time for me to see if word count fits, and adjust accordingly in the rewriting process.

  4. C.D. Hersh says:

    We don’t worry about word count since we work as a team. We look at scenes and how the story is progressing. Yes, we’re plotters. 😉

    • stacyhoff says:

      Plotting definitely sounds like it’s working for you guys, C.D.! You sound like you are on a roll.😄

  5. During the deepest, darkest, most wretched writing funk block thing that I ever experienced, the only thing that let the light in at all was attending a book reading during which the author related losing all 200 pages of her manuscript in the virtual void and having to recreate the entire thing because she was on a daunting deadline. There she was, coiffed and beautifully dressed, talking about this disaster with ease. For me, getting out of my head and out with other readers and writers blew up the funk and got me writing again. Nothing like the writing community!

Leave a Reply

