Writer’s World Building & How it Effects POV by Stacy Hoff

I’ve traveled a lot in 2015 for business. No, not for my “day job” as an attorney. (That would be impossible anyway, since I am chained to my desk like a Doberman to its doghouse.) My travels have been for my business as a romance novelist, wedged into already busy weekends. Why? Because accuracy in scene-setting is a mandatory part of a writer’s “world building.”

Hence, my travels. I packed up my toothbrush, my family, and plugged in “I’ve been Everywhere,” by Johnny Cash.

For one recent story I’ve published, “Art and Seduction,” (released in the anthology HOT SEDUCTION—SIX SIZZLING TALES) I visited New York City’s Metropolitan Museum of Art, because the Met plays an important role in the story.

Met

Photo of Metropolitan Museum of Art. 

Mind you, I actually grew up  in Manhattan, and only a few blocks away from the Met. I walked there hundreds of times during my youth. So why go back and visit a place I know so well? Because it’s important to me to be as accurate as possible. I don’t want to write what I remember, I want to write what I see.

There is a scene in “Art and Seduction” where my heroine travels to the Met, a place she has always yearned to go to. So I wanted to write this scene from the point-of-view of someone who had never been there.  What would it be like to see the grand edifice for the first time? I wanted to try to see this majestic place as it it were my very first time.

A few months ago, I also focused on writing other manuscripts. One of them (set in the world of horse racing) takes place in Belmont Park (New York City) and Saratoga Springs (in New York State). Visiting these places was quite different from my visiting the Metropolitan Museum of Art because I had never been to either Belmont or Saratoga. This was the exact opposite from my experience writing “Art and Seduction,” because in my horse racing story my heroine knew these areas well, although I did not. Hence, I explored Belmont and Saratoga with the mindset of someone who was so familiar with these places it was a fundamental part of who they were.

saratoga downtowan

Photo of Saratoga Springs

As a writer, the difference in writing these two novels is in the point-of-view. What a character will notice when they visit someplace new is quite different from what the character will notice in a place they know well.

What do you notice when you go someplace new?

Above photographs: Copyright Stacy Hoff 2015. All rights reserved.

Stacy_Cartoon_v2

WEBSITE & SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS FOR STACY HOFF:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorStacyHoff

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/authorStacyHoff

Web: http://www.stacyhoff.com

AMAZON LINK FOR DESIRE IN THE ARCTIC by Stacy Hoff:

DesireInTheArctic1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01AMUVJKW?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B01AMUVJKW&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR DESIRE IN THE EVERGLADES by Stacy Hoff:

DesireintheEverglades1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NFSMCYG?creativeASIN=B00NFSMCYG&linkCode=w00&linkId=6PCZIZBWKBWUSNHI&ref_=as_sl_pc_qf_sp_asin_til&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR LAWFULLY YOURS by Stacy Hoff:

LawfullyYours1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00U7U2WCC?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00U7U2WCC&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR HOT SEDUCTION (box set contributors: Jamie K. Schmidt, Stacy Hoff, Holly Roberts, Theresa Hissong, Susan Griscom & Leia Shaw):

Hot Seduction cover

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B014RQX8GU?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B014RQX8GU&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR SEASON OF LOVE (Box set with Stacy Hoff):

SOL cartoon

 

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00X3ZAR3E?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00X3ZAR3E&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

This entry was posted in romance, Settings, Stacy Hoff, Writing, Writing Craft, writing research and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writer’s World Building & How it Effects POV by Stacy Hoff

  1. Jay Lemming says:

    Funny, I visited the Met with some friends from SUNY Binghamton less than a year ago. There was an exhibit on the development of musical instruments over the period of several centuries. And I was on vacation in Lake George back in 2013 and stopped in to Saratoga Springs for lunch one day…only to get caught up in all the racetrack traffic. Ugh.

    I admire the diligence of your research, Stacy. When I visit a new location, I alway watch how people relate to each other–their body language around each other (in greeting or during conversation), the clothing they wear and the inflections in their voices. It all helps me realize I’ve stepped into another, strange world. When I walk up and talk to them, it would seem the conversation and the exchanges are normal. But I also know that every new environment has behind it and out of sight a variety of relationships, values, personal motivations and yes, dead bodies (LOL!) that I may never get a chance to learn about because I am so new, and may just be on my way through town.

    Thanks for sharing some of your stories and pictures.

    • stacyhoff says:

      Love your take on traveling, Jay! And since we seem to keep picking the same destinations, we’ll be bumping into each other soon, no doubt!

Leave a Reply

