A Natural

A natural leader, a natural athlete, a natural in the kitchen…they all kind of imply the same thing–some one is great at something such that it can at times seem effortless or masterfully done. I am one who always have believed in natural abilities. My mother in law is a natural mother, it’s a gift she was born to use and she really does make it seem effortless, which I know now from experience that it is not. My own mother has always been more career minded. I love her and she loves me, but I would never say that motherhood was her natural calling. She experienced and she learned as we all do to some degree.

There are some who believe anything can be taught and anything can be learned. While I too believe this, I also believe the extent to which one might excel in any subject will never exceed the level of mastery that those with natural abilities can reach. That’s not to say that hard work and dedication don’t mean anything. I believe both natural skill and hard work are necessary to achieve mastery of anything.

So why is this important? Well, a lot of times, our passions may align with those things that we are good at. For those of us who are so lucky, my advice is to pursue those passions. Many times, it may be a bit of trial and error to find something we enjoy and are good at. We see that happening with our kids all the time. Let it happen, for them, for you. My thoughts are that it will lead us each down a happier path but only time will tell.

Happy writing this week!

This entry was posted in romance. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

