Writing Despite My Terrible Week by Stacy Hoff

flood_door

This week was awful.

My iPhone and wallet were stolen right off my desk at work. (Yes, we had “office visitors” that day. No, the police have not made any arrests yet.) I spent hours recreating what was lost. I went to DMV. Spoke to the bank, the mobile phone carrier and the credit card companies.

I dealt with many challenging issues at my “day job.” I also had a very difficult assignment given to me with a too-short deadline to deliver.

Then I learned some of my author friends will no longer have a home for their stories because a well respected publisher gave notice it will be closing its doors. Considering how small the publishing industry has already become, I worry about my friends, as well as the publisher’s employees.

In my state, jobs are moving out or shutting down, and my family has been affected. While my job is sticking around, the health insurance plan they are giving us will be permanently downgraded as of next month.

Oh, and last week I lost my wedding ring. Topped off by a pipe in my basement suddenly breaking. Water poured out with a force worthy of a typhoon. Cleaning that up required buckets, which we emptied endlessly.

I’ve done my best to hold myself together while my family gives me hugs to cheer me up. I should at least get points for pretending to be calm.

It is so hard to keep on writing with all these bad things going on. It is depressing for me as a person and distracting for me as an author. When all this bad news started hitting, I sat around and thought about whether I wanted to hold off writing until I’m in a “better place.”

Then I thought to myself, writing is my better place. A place where I can live vicariously through my characters’ challenges. I can handle their hardships because I know that they will pull through. I need to have that same confidence for me personally. For my family. My author-friends. My community at large.

I write romance because I strongly believe that everyone’s life needs a “happily ever after.” I hope to live out my own “HEA” soon. Until I do, I’m going to write away.

Stacy_Cartoon_v2

WEBSITE & SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS FOR STACY HOFF:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorStacyHoff

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/authorStacyHoff

Web: http://www.stacyhoff.com

AMAZON LINK FOR DESIRE IN THE ARCTIC by Stacy Hoff:

DesireInTheArctic1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01AMUVJKW?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B01AMUVJKW&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR DESIRE IN THE EVERGLADES by Stacy Hoff:

DesireintheEverglades1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NFSMCYG?creativeASIN=B00NFSMCYG&linkCode=w00&linkId=6PCZIZBWKBWUSNHI&ref_=as_sl_pc_qf_sp_asin_til&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR LAWFULLY YOURS by Stacy Hoff:

LawfullyYours1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00U7U2WCC?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00U7U2WCC&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR HOT SEDUCTION (box set with Stacy Hoff):

Hot Seduction cover

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B014RQX8GU?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B014RQX8GU&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR SEASON OF LOVE (Box set with Stacy Hoff):

SOL cartoon

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00X3ZAR3E?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00X3ZAR3E&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in fear, Life, problem-solving, stress, writing, journal, diary, resolve, worked, relax., publishing, romance, Stacy Hoff, Writer's life, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Writing Despite My Terrible Week by Stacy Hoff

  1. Bad run of luck, Stacy. i’m so sorry. I don’t understand sometimes why bad things happen to good people. Hang in there. You’re tough.

    • stacyhoff says:

      Thanks, Claire Gem. Yes, I need toughness. Shopping for battle armor will commence!

  2. Anne says:

    Definitely a bad week. I’ve had all that happen before too, though not all in the same week! And I’m sorry to hear about the jobs shutting down. I’m not hearing happy tales from our non-writer friends still in CT. I totally get the writing being the happy place – it helped me survive our OH experience. From which I’m still recovering…

    • stacyhoff says:

      Thanks, Karen. It’s tough to leave the baggage behind, but we’re stepping firmly on the gas peddle. A smoother ride ahead for us both!

  3. Sandy Kenny says:

    So sorry to hear about your crappy week (and I really hope they catch the asshole who stole your wallet and phone). I am so glad that you have your writing to turn to. I find it to be very therapeutic when I am having a terrible week, and lately I’ve had to get out a couple of new journals out (I do most of my writing in my car while I wait for any of my 4 kids to get out of school, activities, etc). My hubby and I have a couple of investment properties, and I am the one who gets to deal with the renters (hubby has a day job)…and next week I have an eviction to deal with and a renter who thinks she has the right to live there free (and her kids go to the same school as my daughter)..needless to say, my stories in my journals have a lot of stressed out characters who are helping me from freaking out. 😁

    • stacyhoff says:

      Sandy, I agree with your assessment of the individual who stole my stuff!! You gave me a (sorely needed) laugh!

      You also gave me perspective – that others are going through a lot, too. Thanks for sharing, and making me feel better. I wish us both easier times ahead!

  4. Joel Spiegel says:

    So sorry you have had such a hard time lately. I sympathize with your pain. Not fair to have so much trouble heaped on you. Stay positive and believe you will get through this sh-t and be in happier times!!

  5. Kathryn O. says:

    Wow, Stacy. That’s all awful. I hope everyone and everything settles in a better place. I’m coming out of a horrible, horrible two years I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy, if I had one. I never imagined I could feel so low and sad and angry for so long and still survive. And I thought, I have to hold onto this emotion and remember, I’ll use it in a book and readers will feel its depth. Best wishes to you and yours.

    • stacyhoff says:

      Hugs, Kathryn! I guess going through all this really can be put in hindsight, and even help us as authors. So glad you’re in a better place!

  6. Oh no, Stacy!!! What a week 😦 I feel for you. It often seems that when it rains, it pours. But I like to remember, what doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger. And you lady, should be one tough cookie after all that 😉 Go write your HEA until your days get better! Take care.

    • stacyhoff says:

      Thanks, Addie Jo! You are right. At this point, I must be strong enough to take on wild ox with a bad temperament!

  7. L.D. Rose says:

    Oh wow, talk about when it rains, it pours! Sorry to hear about your crappy week, Stacy. :/

  8. Hi Stacy, I’m sorry to hear about your week. Like Addie Jo said, you must be an even tougher cookie after surviving it. Onward! 🙂

  9. jamiebeck says:

    Oh, Stacy, that is a horrible week. I’m sure you’ll be able to use all of these emotions to fuel your work-in-progress, so take heart and keep truckin’. 😉

    • stacyhoff says:

      I agree I’ve got to keep on truckin’, Jamie. It’s definitely time for me to move ahead. Thanks for the encouragement.

  10. gailingis says:

    Yikes, most disasters come in threes. Did yours? I loved when you said your escape place is writing, well . . . story telling. Keep on telling those stories. It’s not work, it’s make-believe, fantasy, playland. Right? You are a power house, I am sure you will keep on trucking.

    • stacyhoff says:

      Thanks, Gail. I hope you’re right. If bad things come in threes, let me move on to number four!

  11. So sorry for your horrendous week and wishing you a wonderful weekend. It’s helpful to hear how you went through a bad week and how romance writing is helping you “write” out of it. It’s a good mindset and strategy I’ll add to my arsenal.

    • stacyhoff says:

      If my bad week winds up helping anyone else out, Kristi, I will be glad for a lovely, much needed upside!

  12. If ever there was an example of the old cliche, “when it rains, it pours.” I hope you are reunited with at least some of your things.

  13. stephaniequeen says:

    That was a LONG list of bad stuff! Especially about the wedding ring, oh and the job losses in your community –and the health insurance… too many things!
    It’s a good thing you’re an optimistic romance writer!

  14. bonniegill2 says:

    Hugs

    • stacyhoff says:

      Hugs gratefully accepted, Bonnie Gill. Honestly, sometimes it’s the best therapy.

  15. Beth Carter says:

    What a dreadful week you had. So sorry this happened to such a sweet, positive person. It’s got to get better, right? What publisher went out of business? Hate to hear that. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

