All Aboard for Blog Tours by Stacy Hoff

sign_train_station

I’ve recently launched my newest release, DESIRE IN THE ARCTIC. In order to promote it I had to do everything  under the sun marketing-wise. Technically, this should have been no big deal for me. After all, ARCTIC is my fifth book to be published. Yet every time I have a release, I learn something new. My newest marketing move consisted of “blog tours.”

DesireInTheArctic1800

I had never done a “blog tour” before. For the longest time, I didn’t even know what one is. But now I have completed a crash course. By the time by my PR train pulls into its final station, I would have made roughly a dozen blog stops along the way. That a long enough “tour” for me.

For those of you who are new to “blog tours” too, the term refers to lining up as many “guest spots” on other people’s blogs as possible. The hope is to be on blogs that have readers potentially interested in reading your book. The trick is to find bloggers willing to “host” you. It’s not easy. Some authors pay money to hire PR firms/promoters to find good blog spots for them.

I got lucky that I did not need to hire.  I’ve published enough books to know a fair amount of good bloggers. One who are nice enough to have me on. But if you are looking to take a blog tour and don’t know anybody to host you (and are reluctant to pay a PR/promotion firm) here are my top three tips. (Besides, of course, the usual Google check.)

  1. Reach out to people in your writing group. Chances are, they blog. If not, they can likely recommend relevant blogs to you.
  2. See if your publisher has an authors’ loop. If so, join it so you can find out who is blogging regularly. Then reach out to those authors. (This worked well for me.)
  3. Search your Facebook, Twitter and even LinkedIn connections. Do those people blog? If not, are they connected with people who do?

Here’s yet another tip for you—check out these prospective sites before asking the host if they will be a stop on your blog tour. If their blog is not suited to your readers, or is controversial, or is poorly done, etc., it may be wise to keep your train moving.

What promotion tricks have worked best for you?

Stacy_Cartoon_v2

WEBSITE & SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS FOR STACY HOFF:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorStacyHoff

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/authorStacyHoff

Web: http://www.stacyhoff.com

AMAZON LINK FOR DESIRE IN THE ARCTIC by Stacy Hoff:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01AMUVJKW?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B01AMUVJKW&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR DESIRE IN THE EVERGLADES by Stacy Hoff:

DesireintheEverglades1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NFSMCYG?creativeASIN=B00NFSMCYG&linkCode=w00&linkId=6PCZIZBWKBWUSNHI&ref_=as_sl_pc_qf_sp_asin_til&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR LAWFULLY YOURS by Stacy Hoff:

LawfullyYours1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00U7U2WCC?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00U7U2WCC&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR HOT SEDUCTION (box set with Stacy Hoff):

Hot Seduction cover

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B014RQX8GU?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B014RQX8GU&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR SEASON OF LOVE (Box set with Stacy Hoff):

SOL cartoon

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00X3ZAR3E?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00X3ZAR3E&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

This entry was posted in Business, Marketing, Promotion, publishing, research, romance, Social Media, Stacy Hoff, What I have Learned so Far: Sharing Secret, Writer's Life, Writing Advice, writing life, writing research and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to All Aboard for Blog Tours by Stacy Hoff

  1. gailingis says:

    Stacy, you create magic. Wonderful post!

  2. Jay Lemming says:

    I have two books on the horizon; a collection of short stories and a novel, both of which should be published independently as e-books over the next few months. Literary fiction is a tough nut to crack in terms of finding blogs dedicated to this type of writing. But in addition to searching out those potential host blogs on the social networks (per your third point) and via Google Search, I also check to make sure the blogs I do find have sufficient comments (i.e. reader traffic) to make outreach worth my while. Sounds like you’re doing a pretty good job.

    • stacyhoff says:

      Thank you, Jay, I try. But it’s always a challenge. I agree with you that selecting a blog with a lot of reader comments is a good sign of reader traffic, but I wouldn’t be put off by a blog with commentary that ranges from low-to-moderate. A lot of blog readers prefer not to comment, or have trouble posting their comment. Take a look at the amount of reader “hits” a blog gets, and that should give you another vantage point on the blog’s success.

      Another thing I do is to vary the types of blogs on which I make my tour stops. Some have huge followings, others are way smaller but they reach audiences I wouldn’t ordinarily access. Feel free to branch out and see how your success goes.

      Speaking of success, congrats on your upcoming publishing debut!

Leave a Reply

