Get What You Want

We have all heard “you can’t always get what you want” and “you can’t have our cake and eat it” a time or two or more during our lifetimes. Well, I’m tired of hearing these words and I don’t believe them. Almost every time I ask my son to choose what he wants to do between two of his favorite things, he tells me both. I’m the one who says no at times because I’m tired, hungry, etc. still, he remains determined with some sort of convincing argument.

I know, we aren’t all four and the world is much more complex as we get older. But does it have to be? Everyday, I see and hear so many unhappy people. My focus is on them because it seems to happen more and more and I can help but ask why we do this to ourselves?

I realize each of us our on our own journey but the point of a journey is to get somewhere and I can help but wonder how many of us actually reach our destinatio. Speaking from my own experience, I do believe it is possible for each of us to get what we want even if that means baby steps. We don’t all have to take drastic measures to follow our dreams such as quitting a stable job or moving cross country with nothing. But it’s also important not to give up on dreams. If you like to sing or want to play the piano, take lessons after work. If you want to write, dedicate a bit of time each day to sit down in front of your laptop to type or study the craft. If you want to start a business, do the research, perhaps take a class and put together plan.

Nothing is impossible and we always have a choice. Don’t be your own obstacle! Okay, that’s all for today. Go conquer you world and happy writing this week!

This entry was posted in A writer's life, romance, Toni Kelly and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Get What You Want

  1. DuPe says:

    Reblogged this on dupewrites and commented:
    Good thought for Monday

Leave a Reply

