Writing A Sequel by the Seat of Your Pants by Stacy Hoff

DesireInTheArctic1800DesireintheEverglades1800

I can admit it – I am a “pantser” (someone who does not plot out a book, preferring instead to write by the “seat of their pants”). Maybe because of my “lawyer” day job I simply cannot write fiction by thinking as linearly as I do when I write contracts. Forcing my brain to think in the same outline style works against my creativity. Since I’m self-aware enough to realize this quirk, I wrote my first book, DESIRE IN THE EVERGLADES, by simply sitting down at computer and banging away at the keyboard. I shoved in every bit of humor and crazy drama that sprang from my fingertips. The book came out as a steamy contemporary romance with a heavy amount of action and adventure. Who knew?

My “pantsy-self” did not think about a sequel at the time. Nope, I plunged in with a single tale to tell. Who ever thought my first book, or any of my books, would get published? Not me, that’s for sure. I save my ego for my day-job.

thumb_bell_bottoms

Imagine my surprise when I found out a publisher actually wanted to put my words into print. And bigger surprise when I saw not only my first book, but the one that followed (LAWFULLY YOURS) actually sell. “My God,” I said to myself, “I actually have readers! Maybe I should think about a sequel. Would they enjoy reading one? Would I enjoy writing one?”

Loving a challenge (because I’m demented) I decided to do a follow-up to my first book after all. I set the stage in a place equaling unnerving as the Everglades—Alaska’s Yukon. Even with all the research this new remote place required, choosing the setting was the easy part. The true task was picking up a story line that was already established, and purportedly wrapped up.

Romance readers will know that once the HEA (happily ever after) has been established, the storyline for the hero and heroine is done. This meant I either had to: (1) thrust a secondary character into the limelight; or, (2) create a bunch of brand new characters. After much mulling, I decided to go fifty-fifty. I had heard so much positive feedback on Ana, the secretary to Stephanie (my first heroine) that Ana was my choice. Ana now had to survive out in the wilds in her own story, just as Stephanie had. All that remained was coming up with a new character to play the hero, and a way to integrate the first story without repeating any of it.

After a few months of more keyboard banging, DESIRE IN THE ARCTIC was born. I feel a sense of victory here. Not just for me, but for all “pants-kind.” Who needs a plot when we’ve got the power of spontaneous creativity?

Do you “pants” or plot? What do you think the advantage is?

DESIRE IN THE ARCTIC WILL BE RELEASED WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 3, 2016!

Book Blurb for DESIRE IN THE ARCTIC

Ana Davis has been given the promotion of the century—from secretary to television producer. But the new job is not without its problems. The network will do anything for ratings. The executives reveal Ana’s newest show, one she’s forced to star in herself. She’ll have to survive in the Arctic Circle for twelve days. If she wins, she’ll get the prize money she desperately needs. But the stakes are high, she could lose her very life. Good thing she’s been paired up with expert survivalist William “Redd” Redding—a mysterious, solitary and very sexy man. Too bad she thinks he doesn’t even want to talk to her.

William “Redd” Redding is a former Special Ops Marine in need of cash to help a cause near and dear to his heart. What he’s not in need of, however, is Ana Davis—his clueless but captivating partner. It’s up to Redd to have the two of them survive in the most dangerous, hostile environment of all. But worse than snowstorms, predators, and a scarcity of food is a real danger—Ana. Resisting her, when he wants her more than anything, is his hardest challenge yet. How does he go about protecting her when his biggest goal is to protect his heart?

AMAZON PRE-ORDER LINK FOR DESIRE IN THE ARCTIC by Stacy Hoff:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01AMUVJKW?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B01AMUVJKW&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

And if your curious as to the book 1:

Book Blurb for DESIRE IN THE EVERGLADES

Stephanie Lang’s successful career as a television producer can’t give her everything she wants out of life. Her personal goals of writing a romance novel and finding true love languish. Emotionally scarred by her fiancé’s affair with her cousin, she doesn’t have the confidence to go after either goal again. At least she has professional confidence to fall back on—she is ready to produce the company’s next hit show. But when her boss reveals what the show is about, a survival documentary starring a sexy, modern version of Crocodile Dundee, Stephanie’s life is turned upside down.

Colin Brandt, billed as “The Evergladiator,” will tackle Florida’s Everglades with nothing more than his bare hands and a knife. Stephanie, instantly attracted to handsome, rugged, enigmatic Colin, worries he will not survive his twelve-day odyssey. If he does, he’ll win a million dollars. If he fails, his beloved family’s farm will go into foreclosure. Can Colin conquer the Everglades? And can he conquer her heart?

AMAZON LINK FOR DESIRE IN THE EVERGLADES by Stacy Hoff:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NFSMCYG?creativeASIN=B00NFSMCYG&linkCode=w00&linkId=6PCZIZBWKBWUSNHI&ref_=as_sl_pc_qf_sp_asin_til&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR SEASON OF LOVE (Box set with Stacy Hoff):

SOL cartoon

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00X3ZAR3E?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00X3ZAR3E&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR LAWFULLY YOURS by Stacy Hoff:

LawfullyYours1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00U7U2WCC?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00U7U2WCC&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR HOT SEDUCTION (box set with Stacy Hoff):

Hot Seduction cover

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B014RQX8GU?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B014RQX8GU&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

Stacy_Cartoon_v2

WEBSITE & SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS FOR STACY HOFF:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorStacyHoff

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/authorStacyHoff

Web: http://www.stacyhoff.com

This entry was posted in A writer's life, Characters, Plot, publishing, romance, romance novels, Settings, Stacy Hoff, writer's inspiration, Writing, Writing Advice, Writing Craft, writing life, writing research and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Writing A Sequel by the Seat of Your Pants by Stacy Hoff

  1. kphoenix1 says:

    Sounds like sexy, steaming books I can’t wait to dive in.

  2. I’m starting not a sequel, but a prequel right now. I have the feeling that might be a bit easier since I already know my setting and characters!

    • stacyhoff says:

      I never thought about writing a prequel! I wonder if it is easier. Let me know once you’re done – I can always give it a shot.

  3. Gail Ingis says:

    Stacy, write by the seat of your pants . . . good for you. The words just slide off your fingers. I got that image! Congratulations on the completion and production. Thanks for sharing.

    • stacyhoff says:

      Thank you, Gail! But don’t be too impressed – sometimes the “pants” I write by take a couple of shoves to fit!!!!

  4. PJ Sharon says:

    Just pre-ordered my copy. Sounds like another great read, Stacy…pantsy or not:-) I used to be a complete pantser, but have learned to do some amount of plotting to save myself the aggravation of writing myself into corners and having mega editing to do at the end. Seems I hate editing more than I hate plotting, lol. Having said that, the joy in writing for me is the mysterious unfolding of a story that hasn’t yet been written. I love when characters tell me where to go…literally speaking:-)

    • stacyhoff says:

      I write kind of oddball, PJ – your hybrid way makes much more sense. There is a big upside to planning ahead, even if not fully outlining. I don’t write myself into a corner as much as I stop writing altogether for a few days toying around with difficult ideas for the next scene. I often don’t go farther than that, plot-wise. I only have a “feeling” where I want to end up, and I see each scene a a step on the road to take me there. As I said, it’s oddball!

      Thank you for the support, including the pre-order. I am very grateful!

    • stacyhoff says:

      I write kind of oddball, PJ – your hybrid way makes much more sense. There is a big upside to planning ahead, even if not fully outlining. I don’t write myself into a corner as much as I stop writing altogether for a few days toying around with difficult ideas for the next scene. I often don’t go farther than that, plot-wise. I only have a “feeling” where I want to end up, and I see each scene as a step on the road to take me there. As I said, it’s oddball!

      Thank you for the support, including the pre-order. I am very grateful!

  5. Hi Stacy, I think of myself as a linear pantser. I plan the first three chapters and the last. The rest, I wing it as I go along. When I reach the murky middle, I take a break from it.

    I enjoyed the Everglades and look forward to reading the Arctic.

    Joanne 🙂

    • stacyhoff says:

      Love hearing about your hybrid style, too! More ideas for me to change my wayward ways! Thank you for the lovely comment on Everglades! 😄

  6. Beth Carter says:

    I’m a total pantser, too, and am getting ready to tackle my sequel to THURSDAYS AT COCONUTS. I wish I had better notes. I’m going to have to refresh my memory. Like some have said, it makes for a messy edit at the end but I live how the characters surprise me! Congrats on your sequel. It sounds fun!

  7. Partial pantser, partial dreamster, partial universalal conscience writer! That’s the way I roll.

  8. Roni Hall says:

    Definitely a panster! I just don’t have the time to plot things out, get organized, etc. I know people who do and I admire their discipline in planning and organizing their thoughts, ideas and characters. Being a panster is fun and exciting…I’m never quite sure where I’ll end up!

Leave a Reply

