What Do You Do When You’re Sad?

Last year was a hard year for me losing friends and my dog Pete. This year in one week, the world has lost David Bowie and Alan Rickman. labyrinth

I loved David Bowie in “The Labyrinth”. He was the ultimate Goblin King. I also loved a rather obscure movie of his called “The Man Who Fell to Earth,” which was about an alien who comes to Earth in search of water. He develops a way to get water to his planet where people are dying. Of course, things get in his way. I don’t want to say too much more in case you want to find this movie. It’s worth it.
I haven’t seen it but I understand that his stage musical “Lazarus” is based on the alien character. It’s playing now at the New York Theater Workshop to sold out performances and was co-written by David Bowie and Enda Walsh.

I adored Alan Rickman when he played Colonel Brandon in “Sense and Sensibility.” It was a matter of watching Marianne (played by Kate Winslet) being broken hearted by a stupid idiot and not really paying attention to the man who really loved her. Now I love the “Harry Potter” movies especially with Alan Rickman at Professor Snape. I thought he was hilarious as the voice of the depressed robot in “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.” He was so funny as the unhappy actor playing an alien in “Galaxy Quest.” I still have that movie poster. I’ve seen him in so many movies, sometimes as a villian.  But where did I adore him? Playing Colonel Brandon.

I’ve been watching Twitter and Facebook, so I know these two individuals will be greatly missed. Their gift of joy and reflection on life will remain with us all of our lives.

I watch movies and write when I’m sad. What do you do?

-Susan
Susan Hanniford Crowley, Amazon Kindle Bestselling Author of Vampire Romance
Vampire King of New York, Book 1 of the Arnhem Knights of New York series
Vampire in the Basement, Book 4 of the Vampires in Manhattan series
A Vampire for Christmas, Book 3 of the Vampires in Manhattan series
The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais, Book 2 of the Vampire in Manhattan series
When Love Survives, Book 1 of the Vampire in Manhattan series
Mrs. Bright’s Tea Room (steampunk romance)
Poseidon’s Catch (mythology romance)

 

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, and Science Fiction Author
This entry was posted in A Lesson in Love, A Vampire for Christmas, Alan Rickman, David Bowie, knights, Max Vander Meer, Mrs. Bright's Tea Room, mythology romance, Norse, paranormal, paranormal romance, Remembrance, romance, romance novels, steampunk romance, Susan Hanniford Crowley, The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais, vampire books, Vampire David Hilliard, Vampire in the Basement, Vampire King of New York, Vampire King of New York In Print, Vampire Maximillion Vander Meer, vampires, Viking, When Love Survives, Yule and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Do You Do When You’re Sad?

  1. When i’m sad I watch movies or read. The world has lost two wonderful talented men.

Leave a Reply

