One Day at a Time

We are 2 weeks into 2016 and I have to say that thus far, this year is going pretty good. Statistically, they say that most resolutions end around that 3-4 week mark which isn’t too far away. How are you all doing?

I’ll be honest in that I didn’t really have any resolutions this year. My plan was to reflect and take action when I want to take action—and of course, I find myself doing more than I would usually. I’m trying to avoid the pitfalls of years past when time flies by and next thing, I’m at end of year, having accomplished none of what I wanted to accomplish and I’m a disorganized mess.

So why a year without resolutions? I think I’ve been overextended lately. Everything becomes another ball for me to juggle so I figured by letting them all drop that I can pick up what I want without any pressure. It’s early on still but I have to say that there is a great sense of freedom since I’ve made this decision. A lot of the motivation and appreciation I’d lost seems to be coming back. I’m working out not because I have to work out but because I want to work out. I’m figuring out my work life for the longer term and trying to keep myself organized. I’m also trying to remember what it is I contribute each and every day (this is something I believe a lot of us would benefit from but that we don’t take advantage of—perhaps another blog topic). Lastly, I’m trying to be grateful for all that I already do have. I realize that gratitude tends to fall by the wayside with each day’s chaos and this is something I need to slow down and grasp.

It’s still early on but I’m inspired by my positive momentum. Hopefully this blog has given you all a lift if you are hitting a block early on. Hang in there and remember why you’re making these changes!

Happy writing this week!

 

 

This entry was posted in A writer's life, romance, Toni Kelly, Writer's Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

