How Do I Get Rid of Pink Dyed Fingers?

There are many adventures to being an author. If you’re a parent or grandparent there are cupcake-clip-art-RTAqALyTLeven more rather unique ones.

To add to the festive occasion of a sleepover, my husband got pink and chocolate cupcakes from the bakery. My granddaughter and I both had cupcakes. She got pink frosting all over her face and hands.  This bright pink really, really stays with you. It washed off her face, but her fingers were another matter.

Soap and water worked so so.  Germ-free soap also had limited results.  Now I didn’t want to scrub too hard and hurt her. We washed her hands again and they are clean just bright pink. My dilemma is that I will be returning my granddaughter with bright pink hands to my daughter. What to do?  While the family slept, I went online to look for a solution.

Apparently food color dyed hands and faces are a common problem in society. I looked over the solutions and in the morning, I will try the ones I consider safe for a pre-schooler.

Here are possible solutions I found for gently removing food dye from hands. All advised against scrubbing and irritating the skin. All solutions require adult supervision.

  1. Baby wipes – Why didn’t I think of that?
  2. Use toothpaste
  3. A solution of baking soda and vinegar – One person who did not have vinegar said warm water and baking soda worked great.

Some solutions were rather radical and I would not use them on a child.

Tomorrow when she wakes I will use the baby wipes first. I’ll let you know what happens. I’ve been told that the color will eventually wear off with daily regular hand washing.

I give this warning: Beware pink cupcakes!  If anyone has advice, you’re welcome to suggest it in our comment box.

Disclaimer: The information on this blog is for entertainment purposes only and that we are not providing medical or other professional advice. Please, understand that reading and/or using any of the information from this blog is at your own risk.

-Susan
Susan Hanniford Crowley, Amazon Kindle Bestselling Author of Vampire Romance
http://www.amazon.com/Susan-Hanniford-Crowley/e/B004YXOGXG

 

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, and Science Fiction Author
This entry was posted in A Vampire for Christmas, A writer's life, Max Vander Meer, Norse, paranormal, paranormal romance, Readers Conference, romance, romance novels, shapeshifters, steampunk romance, Susan Hanniford Crowley, The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais, vampire books, Vampire David Hilliard, Vampire in the Basement, Vampire King of New York, Vampire King of New York In Print, Vampire Maximillion Vander Meer, vampires, Viking, werewolves, When Love Survives, Writer Workshops, Writer's Life, Yule and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Do I Get Rid of Pink Dyed Fingers?

  1. Susan Hanniford Crowley says:

    We washed hands again in the morning with soap and water and it faded so we decided to go with the fade over time process.

Leave a Reply

