2016, What Does it Mean to You?

2016 is going to be a year of reflection and action. That is my resolution.

2015 has been a year of change and a year of unhappiness for many I’ve met, most especially in the workspace (the day job). Some of it makes logical sense and some of it while not really warranted, needed to be made know to satisfy those experiencing such unhappiness. Still, as I look around me at those who are unhappy, I’m not sure what to say except “change it.” I know it is not that easy, in fact, changing the way you view the world and going for what you want are probably some of the most difficult things to do. If they weren’t, we’d all be doing our dream job and we’d all be much happier.

This all being said, for those of you ready to truly make a change—not a superficial change that you’ll drop 2 weeks into the new year, but a substantial life-changing move, think about what it is you want. What is it you value? Do you want to write a book? If so, why? What do you want to write about and why? Do you want to lose weight? If so, why? These may seem like silly questions but the true answers really make a difference. What does that book or weightloss symbolize to you? When we dig behind why we are doing something versus just what we should do (e.g. I should eat a salad because it is healthier or I should get my Master’s because that is what all my friends are doing), our actions have a greater meaning.

So I repeat, for me, 2016 is going to be a year of reflecting on what is really important to me and taking action. What will 2016 be for you?

 

 

This entry was posted in A writer's life, romance, Toni Kelly and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2016, What Does it Mean to You?

Leave a Reply

