Wine Time and a Contest with Kim Amos! by Heather Novak

Hello My Nights of Passion readers! Are you ready for an awesome holiday themed Wine Time? Of course you are.

Grab that bottle of wine and please allow me to introduce my friend and fellow Greater Detroit Romance Writers of America author, the hilarious and charming Kim Amos!


 

LZ-author-photoIt was only a few weeks ago that I picked up Kim’s contemporary holiday book Every Little Kiss, lit my favorite hot chocolate candle, and curled up on the couch…then stayed up WAY TOO LATE because I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN!Every Little Kiss

Christmas romance at its best.

So, like any normal reader, I immediately stalked Kim and asked her to be on my blog. She thankfully agreed! 



Hi Kim! Please tell us a little about yourself and your background! 

I’ve always wanted to be a writer, and I started penning stories when I was in first grade. I could barely write, but I had THINGS TO SAY, darn it. One of my most ambitious early
works was Sally and the Time Machine, where the protagonist, the aforementioned Sally, goes back in time to the cretaceous era (or “dinosaur time” as I called it) and nearly gets eaten by a T-Rex. It had plot and intrigue and staples, so basically it was indie press before indie press was a thing. Since then, just about every job I’ve had has involved writing, except for the time I sold vacuum cleaners as a telemarketer.

 

 

I just finished Every Little Kiss and loved it. The hero, Abe, is a superhot firefighter. What kind of research did you have to do?

It was agony—I had to meet and study firefighters, and google hot men for inspiration. *puts back of hand on forehead* I nearly didn’t make it. Thankfully, I had my good friend Jenn (to whom the book is dedicated) for help. She was firefighter in Dearborn, Michigan, and recently became a fire inspector. She let me ride along on calls, and she patiently answered my questions about what specifically happens in certain situations. I really wanted to get all the scenes right, but a certain elevator scene in the beginning was very important to me!

Your heroine went against the grain and I really loved her. What made you decide to make a strong woman who wasn’t only after a husband and children? 

My husband and I decided not to have kids, and I wanted to create a heroine who felt the same thing, but who still had a heart for helping kids and caring for them, as many of us do. We say all the time “it takes a village,” and I wanted to show a woman who was part of that village without actually having her own children. I think it represents a growing segment of the romance-reading population.

Tell us about the other books in the series.

There are 2.5 other books in tathkm_250x403he series, which all take place in the small town of White Pine, Minnesota. Because a recipe exchange—and the female friendships therein— is at the core of the books, I have included a casserole-inspired recipe in all the novels. Minnesota is ground zero for amazing casseroles, or as they call them, hot dishes. I’m delighted that the second novel in the series, AND THEN HE KISSED ME, was just nominated for an RT Reviewers Choice Award! 

For more info on all things White Pine, head on over to kimamoswrites.com.

Congratulations on your nomination!! We’re cheering you on.

 

Okay, let’s get real. What’s you’re most embarrassing holiday story?

10440261_10104660866178633_3307955994343241432_n

Meet Oliver and Amos!

My husband and I had an advent calendar we loved, that we picked up at Starbucks. Every year we’d pack it full of Godiva chocolates (YUM!) and we’d totally look forward to a new treat each day. Except for this one year that our beagle, Amos, ate the ENTIRE THING—
paper, chocolate, wrappings, everything—and basically destroyed Christmas. He was fine, he emitted only smugness versus other things that could have come out of him. Rob and I got a wooden calendar at Target after that. And if Amos wasn’t so cute, we might have sent him packing to the North Pole.

Gingerbread or Peppermint? 

Gingerbread. Put it in my face. Please. Now.

Beer or Wine?

Beer. I love beer. I’m from Wisconsin. True story: in second grade, Leinenkugel’s (a Wisconsin beer) was a word on a spelling test.

Favorite holiday dessert?

I’m going to go with my husband’s ice cream pies. Yes, you read that whole sentence correctly. He owns an artisanal ice cream business called Go Ice Cream and he makes holiday pies that are amaaaaazing.

I think I speak for all of us when I say, ” GAH! WANT! IN MY MOUTH RIGHT NOW!”

Hockey or football?

Football! I’m a huge Packers fan. See Beer or Wine re: Wisconsin roots.

Favorite movie to watch when you’re feeling down?

Anchorman!

What are you working on now?

Actually, nothing! I’m taking a break, giving my brain a rest, and trying to noodle on what I want to do next. It’s really wonderful, actually. I am reading a ton and watching movies and it’s awesome!

Thanks for being part of my blog! I absolutely loved this interview.

Thank you so much for having me! I had a blast and loved being here. Have a wonderful holiday! And keep those advent calendars away from your dogs, folks! Lol

Make sure to follow Kim on social media:
Twitter: @KimAmosWrites
Facebook: facebook.com/KimAmosWrites


Okay folks, let’s talk about this contest. We all know it’s why you’re reading this. I’m giving away an autographed paperback copy of Every Little Kiss!
(Void where prohibited. Open to US Residents only.)

How do you win? Just type “Gingerbread” in the comments! Make sure your email address is attached to your comment. Contest is open until December 20, 11:59pm EST. Kim will randomly select the winner.


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,
Heather Novak
Bold. Bewitching. Breathtaking. 

Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak
Website: Heathernovak.net

Author of The Lynch Brothers Series
Be careful what you wish for…

Hunting Witch Hazel: February 2016
Threat of Raine: March 2016
Rosemary for Remembrance: April 2016

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wine Time and a Contest with Kim Amos! by Heather Novak

  1. Tori Lynne says:

    Gingerbread!

    Also, great interview… and I’m looking up this ice cream place after I finish typing this comment.

  2. Kim Henidis says:

    Gingerbread (is delicious).
    Really enjoyed the interview. So jealous that Kim’s husband makes ice cream pies (yum!) And being in Wisconsin, I’m a bit partial to the Packers too 🙂

  3. kristinbartleylenz says:

    Gingerbread cookies are my favorite (but only if they have cinnamon red hots for eyes). Kim’s warm and funny personality shines through in this interview, just like in her books. Cheers!

  4. Linda May says:

    Love Gingerbread cookies right out of the oven. Loved the interview & thanks for a chance at this wonderful book.

  5. Shae Ross says:

    Awesome interview! Love the name Amos for a Beagle and the holiday story. So sweet–literally! Happy Holidays all!

  6. Erika Cooper says:

    Gingerbread! Also, I still want those boots!

  7. Gingerbread! :)♡♡♡♡

Leave a Reply

