Becoming Published, Part I by Stacy Hoff

IMG_7701

I’m looking back on my road to publication. The (newly released) print edition of my second book, LAWFULLY YOURS, has made me nostalgic. And grateful. It’s been a very long emotional journey. How long? About twenty years!

LAWFULLY YOURS is the very first story I ever wrote. Yes, even before my first published book (DESIRE IN THE EVERGLADES) was a thought in my wacky, quirky, crazy little head. LAWFULLY YOURS did not start out as a story, though.

I had written little vignettes based on my own life as a young female lawyer. The scenarios I wrote were made up for purposes of comedy. Not just to make other people laugh, but to make myself laugh, too. Being a lawyer, and especially a female one who looked about fifteen years old, life for me was tough. Not much laughter anywhere. Yet in an ironic twist, no one took me seriously, either.

The male-dominated field was tough to break into. I had no connections with whom to network since I came from out-of-state. I went through the motions (pun intended) of my legal life desperate for a mentor. I didn’t even find a friend in the field to whom I could ask questions. During this time I felt not only alone, but that I would never fit in.

I decided to take up writing as an emotional outlet. The humorous nature of the stories helped to lift my mood. The chance to be creative gave me a sense of freedom. I was happy again, like my days back in my college creative writing classes. Of course, like a bat, I only came “alive” at night. (Is there such a thing as a writing vampire?)

As my emotional search for positivity within the legal field continued, so did the relief I felt with every fictionalized word I threw onto a page. I found that my characters were taking the journey with me. I took solace in that. I finally had companions to share my professional struggles with, even if they were fictional. Regardless, they were alive and well to me.

What have you done to help you cope with a tough situation? How did you find your release?

Part II of this post continues next week – December 18, 2015.

Stacy_Cartoon_v2
WEBSITE & SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS FOR STACY HOFF:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorStacyHoff

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/authorStacyHoff

Web: http://www.stacyhoff.com

AMAZON LINK FOR LAWFULLY YOURS by Stacy Hoff:

LawfullyYours1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00U7U2WCC?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00U7U2WCC&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR DESIRE IN THE EVERGLADES by Stacy Hoff:

DesireintheEverglades1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NFSMCYG?creativeASIN=B00NFSMCYG&linkCode=w00&linkId=6PCZIZBWKBWUSNHI&ref_=as_sl_pc_qf_sp_asin_til&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR HOT SEDUCTION (box set contributors: Jamie K. Schmidt, Stacy Hoff, Holly Roberts, Theresa Hissong, Susan Griscom & Leia Shaw):

Hot Seduction cover

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B014RQX8GU?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B014RQX8GU&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR SEASON OF LOVE (Box set with Stacy Hoff):

Sol cover new

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00X3ZAR3E?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00X3ZAR3E&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

 

This entry was posted in A writer's life, Characters, Emotions, Life, publishing, romance, Stacy Hoff, Writer's Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Becoming Published, Part I by Stacy Hoff

  1. gailingis says:

    Stacy, thank you for sharing. I can absolutely understand, since my professional life is entrepreneurial. Been there lots and back again. Congratulations on finding yourself, more than once. You are a talent, fun, delightful and giving. It’s a pleasure to know you!

  2. PJ Sharon says:

    I was led to write YA because, unbeknownst to me, I had a troubled teen still living in my head after twenty years or so of being an adult, LOL. it was cathartic and freeing to let that teen me pour her heart onto the page. I think many writers are compelled to tell their stories in an effort to find sanity and peace within ourselves. it’s a virtual do-over or alternate reality if you will. Whatever drives the muse, we wouldn’t have it any other way, would we?

    Thanks for sharing, Stacy. You are as brave as your characters:-)

  3. Hi Stacy:
    I can totally relate to how your writing gave you a release from life’s pressures. I love my Connecticut home. We moved here over ten years ago from Florida. I didn’t realize how much I missed the palm trees and lapping waves until I started writing tropical stories. It’s amazing how vivid the sunny images are in my head when the snow starts to fall here.

    Thanks for sharing your story!
    Kristi

  4. I started writing after I was laid off from a job. I’d always wanted to do it, but I never thought I could and I never had the time. Two weeks into my unemployment with no prospects, I woke up and sat in front of the computer. I was bitter toward the company that laid me off for a long time until I realized that if they hadn’t done it, I never would have started writing. Boy, was that ever a bite in the butt. LOL. Congrats on your published novels!

    • stacyhoff says:

      Kristi, I love how you choose story location! Trying to make your own personal “climate” more comfortable is brilliant!

    • stacyhoff says:

      Angela, you & me together, dealing with our work traumas by writing!

      I had never thought of my bad career beginnings as a positive thing – until now. Thank you for my holiday gift!

    • Yes, it’s kind of a hard pill to swallow at first. I had a horrible boss and terrible coworkers, who I wanted to despise after they kicked me to the curb. But, I wouldn’t have my books if they hadn’t done it. It kind of leaves a bad taste in your mouth at times, LOL, but I’ll take it. Besides, sending them my release promotion cards for all my books kind of made me feel better. *wink wink*

  5. stacyhoff says:

    Angela, fabulous that you sent them your promo cards!!!!! You did them a favor – you alerted them to a great book!

  6. Stacy, Thanks for sharing your inspiring journey. When I started teaching, I could pass for sixteen. Definitely a challenge during the early years of my career. 🙂

  7. Before writing, I don’t know who I was. From the minute I started it became an addiction, my drug of choice. Thanks for sharing.

    Writing as Belle Ami
    The One (The Only One) #1
    The One & More (The Only One) #2
    Coming 2016 – One More Time is Not Enough (The Only One) #3
    http://bookshow.me/TheOne
    http://bookshow.me/TheOneAndMore
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/belle.ami.96?fref=ts
    Twitter: @BelleAmi5
    Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/belleami96/
    Website: http://belleami.us

  8. Pingback: Tell Again Tuesday Becoming Published, Part I by Stacy Hoff | C.D. Hersh

Leave a Reply

