Thanksgiving, Creativity & Family by Stacy Hoff

table 1

Photo of Thanksgiving dinner at my house. 

I love everything about Thanksgiving. The food. The family. And the chance to get creative.

My relatives can feel free to claim all the other other holidays, but Thanksgiving is mine. I cater exactly the way I want to because, hey, I’m finicky. For me, cooking is yet another way for me to express myself creatively. I spent a year taking weekend cooking classes in order to learn the basics. Then I learned how to get schmancy!

Thanksgivingbird

Yes, I made this turkey myself!

It took me yet another year, however, to learn that unfortunately not everyone loves what I cook. Especially my kids. No matter how long I spend brining the turkey, sautéing the potatoes, or making that green bean casserole (you know the one I’m talking about), the only item ever eaten on my boys’ plates is the store-bought, previously frozen, macaroni & cheese dish they force me to serve. Sigh…

Maybe I should stick with writing. Then again, my kids would never read anything I write, either. Since my novels can be as steamy as the dishes I cook up, maybe that’s a good thing.

At least my kids will eat my desserts!

bakedgoods

Yes, I made these, too!

What do you do to let your creativity loose this time of year?

Stacy_Cartoon_v2

WEBSITE & SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS FOR STACY HOFF:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorStacyHoff

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/authorStacyHoff

Web: http://www.stacyhoff.com

AMAZON LINK FOR DESIRE IN THE EVERGLADES by Stacy Hoff:

DesireintheEverglades1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NFSMCYG?creativeASIN=B00NFSMCYG&linkCode=w00&linkId=6PCZIZBWKBWUSNHI&ref_=as_sl_pc_qf_sp_asin_til&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR LAWFULLY YOURS by Stacy Hoff:

LawfullyYours1800

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00U7U2WCC?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00U7U2WCC&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR HOT SEDUCTION (box set contributors: Jamie K. Schmidt, Stacy Hoff, Holly Roberts, Theresa Hissong, Susan Griscom & Leia Shaw):

Hot Seduction cover

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B014RQX8GU?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B014RQX8GU&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

AMAZON LINK FOR SEASON OF LOVE (Box set with Stacy Hoff):

Sol cover new

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00X3ZAR3E?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00X3ZAR3E&linkCode=xm2&tag=stacyhoffcom-20

This entry was posted in A writer's life, holiday traditions, romance, Stacy Hoff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thanksgiving, Creativity & Family by Stacy Hoff

  1. gailingis says:

    This is adorable. Your post brings back the past. I rarely cook a whole Thanksgiving dinner anymore. This year we’ll be spending it in New York City with our Atlanta kids, that means all the other kids, hmm, that’s 21 of them will have to make it without my noodle pudding (not kuggle with the raisins) and thumbprint cookies. We’ll be going to a restaurant. Now how do you like that cooked up Thanksgiving? Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island here we come. Have yourself and your family a blessed Thanksgiving!!! I see you just like the Norman Rockwell Family poster. Isn’t that an lovely image?

  2. Me too! My other passion besides writing is cooking! Don’t feel bad about the kids not eating, eventually they figure it out that Mom’s cooking is the best! Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

