Pray for Paris

12241437_457768824411412_3726451060199961566_n

I’m not usually one to comment on current events, however, the tragedy that occurred in Paris two nights ago made me want to write a brief, but heartfelt post about the courage, the resilience, and the resolve of the French people in the face of this despicable treachery.

I went to Paris several times a number of years ago while doing research on my dissertation. The summers I was in Ireland a dear friend had an apartment in Paris and I would fly over to visit for Bastille Day. I have some of the most wonderful memories of Pairs: going to a cinema and having to specify to have butter put on the popcorn; standing in awe in Notre Dame Cathedral; walking down narrow little streets shopping for clothes for my girls; eating lunch at 95 Metres, the restaurant half way up the Eiffel Tower for my anniversary; exploring Versailles; and sitting on the rooftop of my friend’s apartment sipping wine and watching the sun go down over Paris..

To hear of the madness Paris has been subjected to sickens and infuriates me. Although all I can do is small things to let the French people know that they are not alone, I will let them know that my prayers and thoughts are with them. Hopefully they will weather this storm with the grace for which the French are so renowned.

Vive la France.

This entry was posted in Jenna Jaxon, Paris tragedy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pray for Paris

  1. Gerri Brousseau says:

    My heart aches for the people of Paris.

Leave a Reply

