Sieze What You Want

Carpe Diem! Seize the Day! Some wise words even if they’ve become somewhat cliche. I had a co-worker come by this week and ask me if I’ve ever sat in a room and looked around and wondered why I was there or why I feel so out of place. My mind was shouting of course I have, but the truth is that I’m sure many of us have felt this way at some time or the other.

My co-worker is bored, going through the motions of life with no understanding of why or his purpose. I’ve been there and even now I have moments when I have to talk myself into moving forward, but the difference is I’ve formed goals to move towards and even if they seem a ways off at times, I still have a light at the end of my tunnel. I’m working towards a better now, a better future and a better me.

So what about my co-worker? Well, like all of us, he has to choose what will make him happy. It isn’t easy and I give huge kudos to those bold enough to take the risk and step towards longer term and broader happiness. My husband told me about a co-worker this week who took a job elsewhere. She wants to go where she’d love to live and doesn’t want to be complacent in either her work or outside life. I loved hearing this and couldn’t help admiring her for taking that next step. Don’t get me wrong. I realize it isn’t always so simple. I, like my co-worker, have kids. It may take some creativity and reflection on our parts but it isn’t impossible to achieve what we want. The hard part is deciding and taking that first step.

Happy writing this week!

This entry was posted in A writer's life, Toni Kelly and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

