Using NaNoWriMo to Make Better Habits by Heather Novak

Congratulations to Stacy Conrad for winning last week’s Halloween blog contest! She will be receiving an autographed book of her choice by one of my all time favorite authors, Elizabeth Heiter!

So blogospher, can ya’all believe it’s November?! By this point, you’re probably sick of hearing about NaNoWriMo. It’s okay, so am I. However, let’s talk about why it’s important and how to use it to create new habits.

It takes an average person a minimum of 18 days to form a new habit, at least per this article by Huff Post.  Writing needs to be a habit. If you don’t make the time for it, you will never finish that book.

Most people don’t have time to write. NaNo is the perfect excuse to figure out what you need to give up to make it happen.

I miss my friends and family terribly. I see them on holidays, and at weddings and funerals. I read episode recaps of television shows I don’t have time to watch. I get my book fill by listening to audiobooks in my car to and from work. I write on lunch and when I get home from work.

At the end of the day, I need to save whatever time I can for blogging, grocery shopping, and spending quality time with my man. This meant I had to break the habit of wasting time on the couch and get my butt to my computer chair. The month of September was very good to me. I broke my reality show habit and started writing. I finished three first drafts.

I want to challenge you to do the same. I’m challenging you to work on building up the habit of getting your butt into that chair. Do not read what you did the day before. Make notes when you stop for the day about what you wrote and where the story needs to pick up. Just sit and type. 

My most important piece of advice: Allow your draft to suck.

First drafts will suck. That’s their job. I just spent weeks fretting over a novella because it was absolute rubbish. Then, last Sunday, it all clicked into place because I stopped procrastinating and being afraid of how sucky the story actually was. All I had to do was get my butt into that chair. Now, I’ll be using NaNo to hold myself accountable for finishing my edits and rewrites. 

NaNo is a free tool, so make it work for you. Even if you only write 100 words, that’s 100 more words than you had when you started.

Good luck, friends! You can find me on NaNo here!


November 5th is known for:


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,
Heather Novak
Bold. Bewitching. Breathtaking. 

Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak
Website: Heathernovak.net

Author of The Lynch Brothers Series
Be careful what you wish for…

Hunting Witch Hazel: February 2016
Threat of Raine: March 2016
Rosemary for Remembrance: April 2016

 

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

