Spooktacular Special: Interview with Paranormal Author Kristine Overbrook

spooktacular

Welcome to a week of Spooktacular postings on Nights of Passion for Halloween. I’ll starting off the week with a howl of delight. I’m interviewing paranormal author Kristine Overbrook whose works include Paratherapist at Your Service, Creatures of the Moon, and her newest release, Redeeming the Night. Kristine is giving away an e-copy of Redeeming the Night today and even though I don’t write paranormal, I’m giving away a copy of my latest historical romance, Only Marriage Will Do, today, just to celebrate the season. 🙂 To enter to win either or both books, please leave a comment telling us you’d like a copy of the book. The giveaways will run until midnight tonight (October 25, 2015) EDT. Void where prohibited by law.

And now, my fantastic paranormal friend, Kristine Overbrook answers some fun questions about her, things that go bump in the night, and her work.

  1. Who is your favorite scary author and what is your favorite book by them?

My favorite scary author is Edgar Allen Poe. His turn of phrase is timeless and his skill in building the suspense and putting the reader in the story. My favorite tale of his is The Cask of Amontillado. I can still hear the bells on Fortunato’s hat.

  1. What are you most afraid of?

Clowns. There is nothing funny about them. Any aspect, deliberate face camouflage, clothing in offensive clashing colors, and oversized shoes, are signs of pure evil. Oh, and I’m not too keen on heights either. A clown on a plane would render me catatonic.

  1. Have you ever had a close encounter of the ghostly kind?

When I was a child, I stayed with my aunt for a week one summer. When we were bringing in groceries I thought my cousin was behind me. When I turned, she wasn’t there, but I smelled a floral perfume. When I told my cousin that I liked her perfume, she started to cry and ran in the house. My aunt told me later that they’d been experiencing visitations by a little girl ghost that was accompanied by that smell. Just thinking of that week gives me the creeps.

  1. Where did you get the idea for your latest scary/paranormal story?

In the condom isle of the pharmacy.

  1. What is your favorite scary movie?

Since we’re not on the phone I’ll tell you. For the longest time, it was Scream. Lately, it’s World War Z.

  1. What was your process for writing this book? Is this different or the same as other books you’ve written?

This book was written over the course of a couple years. So, several sections were             written out of order. I’d even sometimes rewrite a section that I wasn’t sure if I’d       written. It was a most disjointed process. Thanks to my fabulous editors I was able to           smooth it out. So far, the reviewers like it.

  1. Do you have plans for a sequel to this book?

This book is a sequel. It stands alone, but the first book is Creatures of the Moon.

  1. Who has been the greatest influence on your writing?

My biggest influence has been Laura Kitchell (Author of Lady of the Imperial City) She   was the first writer I’d ever met in person. She helped me believe in myself, in my         writing. I only hope one day I will be able to pay that forward.

Now, Lightning Round:

  1. Tea or coffee?

Coffee

  1. French manicure or color (and if color, what color)?

Color, anything metallic.

  1. Beach or mountains?

Mountains

  1. Chocolate or vanilla?

Chocolate

  1. Boxers, briefs or commando?

Whatever makes him comfortable.

  1. Blond, brunette or redhead? (preferred men’s hair color)

Brunette

  1. Would you rather skydive or scuba dive?

Scuba. As long as there are no clowns.

  1. Would you rather vacation in Hawaii, Vegas or London?

Hawaii.

  1. What’s the one thing you would never do?

I’m not one to exclude. I’ve found that once I make a declaration like that I’m led down       a road to that very thing. Though, sky diving with a clown comes to mind.

Thank you so much for being my guest today, Kristine. Here’s the cover and blurb for Redeeming the Night. Be sure to leave a comment if you’d like the chance to win a copy!

Redeeming the Night Cover

Ashley, a succubus, risks the wrath of The Sisterhood when she teams up with Private Investigator Eric Adams, a newly-turned werewolf, to free kidnapped girls from the clutches of a serial killer.  Can love hold them together when her very nature may rip them apart?

The buy links are:

Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Redeeming-Night-Kristine-Overbrook-ebook/dp/B011P6L7SG/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1445651407&sr=8-2

Barnes and Noble

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/redeeming-the-night-kristine-overbrook/1122301789?ean=9781440593505

 

This entry was posted in Holiday Posts, Jenna Jaxon, Spooktacular and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spooktacular Special: Interview with Paranormal Author Kristine Overbrook

  1. Jenna Jaxon says:

    Reblogged this on Jenna Jaxon Romance–because passion is timeless. and commented:

    My post for Nights of Passion this week is such a fun interview with Kristine Overbrook I just had to share. We’re also giving away two books, so read on!

  2. Daryl Devore says:

    OMG – the answer – In the condom isle of the pharmacy – mad eme laugh out loud – I thought I got ideas in weird place. That one tops the cake.

  3. I love Poe, too. I used to be a member of the Edgar Allan Poe Society (in Baltimore). If you ever want to reference or read about EAP, that’s the place to go. http://www.eapoe.org/

    Clowns. Big fat double ew! I like them at Cirque du Soleil, though, because they don’t dress up like circus clowns. They’re silly but not creepy.

    Your book sounds wonderful. And, even though I don’t read paranormal, as a rule, I would read this one because of the PI and serial killer plot line. Good luck with your sales!

  4. Jenna Jaxon says:

    The winner of an e-copy of Redeeming the Night is Patricia Green and the winner of an e-copy of Only Marriage Will Do is Daryl Devore! Thank you ladies so much for commenting!

Leave a Reply

